Chasing Waterfalls

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

There is something magical from the hidden. There is a different fulfillment when you become one with nature. I had proven this a lot of times in my travels. The more I get to expose myself with nature, the more I want to do this over and over again.

In this adventure, we chased three of the most beautiful waterfalls in Cebu, Philippines. It was at this moment where I realized that there are still a lot of wonders that Cebu has to showcase. These waterfalls are found in Samboan which is more or less four hours from Cebu City.

We convened at the Cebu South Bus Terminal at around 3:00 am. It may be a long trip but our four-hour travel gave us the chance to rest and gain more energy for our "chasing waterfalls" adventure.

We arrived at the Samboan market at around 7:00 am. After eating our breakfast, we rented two motorcycles (2 people can ride per motorcycle) as our service vehicle for the whole day. Then, we immediately proceeded to our first stop, the Dau Falls in Barangay Suba.

The Dau Falls is the highest waterfall in Samboan with a height of more or less 100 feet. But before we get to this captivating waterfall, we have to endure a more or less 45-minute hike from the jump-off point. We have to pass through the bamboo bridge, climb slippery boulders, walk in riverbanks, and walk through the green canyon. Hiking under the scorching heat of the sun was exhausting but the green plants and trees provided us comfort.

The Binalayan Hidden Falls is known for cliff jumping. Brave souls climb up and jump to the 8-ft deep waterfalls pool. I didn’t dare jump because I am too clumsy, I might have a wrong fall and hurt myself. But my friends were so brave that they tried the cliff jump.

Our last stop was the Aguinid Falls. This, for me, was the difficult one because it is a multi-tiered fall plus what makes it more difficult to climb to the higher tiers was that you are going against the flow the water.

At first, I thought it was a piece of cake. But when we reached Tier 2 going to Tier 5, it was a different story already. We have to climb the tall rocks carefully and make sure that we are stepping on the right trail, otherwise, we will fall to the big rocks and deep water and injure ourselves. Honestly, I was nervous and I didn’t want to finish the trail because I thought it was a risk for my life. But, my colleagues' courage made me realized that I have to be brave as well and reach the finish line.

It was rewarding to have reached the last Tier. We managed to reach the top. We stayed for quite a while and enjoyed the water.

Conquering all those three waterfalls is an achievement. God's grandeur always amazes me.

Sort:  

@naojakyl, you've impressed me once again. Those photos are beautiful. Those places... You've been to places that look more beautiful than I could ever dream of...

Now I really need to start traveling and check out our beautiful world!! :0)

Hi @simplymike, yes you should start traveling and explore a lot of beautiful places all over the world.

I really should. I've never even been outside of Europe yet :0(

Super post I agree, ther is magic all over from mother Nature :D!!
awsoem waterfall you found, love it :D
great post

Thanks @swedishdragon, I agree there is majesty in nature.

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @smeralda and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Looks like it was a day well spent :D. Really cool hike!

It was indeed a day well-spent. We had so much fun. And the long trek, the risk of climbing the big stones are all worth it.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=naojakyl
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=chasing-waterfalls


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #493.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Congratulations @naojakyl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

wow! It looks like an amazing place to visit... awesome photos and thanks for sharing them with us @naojakyl!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.032
BTC 60972.25
ETH 2632.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57