A holy hill of crosses

in #travel8 years ago

We were driving and I saw the place from the road and my mouth opened widely of shock. Never had I seen anything like this before. This was an unique place. We parked the car and walked slowly to the most mindblowing place ever.

Never have I felt so overwhelmed or amazed. A big hill filled with crosses in the middle of Lithuania, close to the city named Siauliai. And the place is called " Hill of Crosses".

Pilgrims from all over the world comes to the holy hill to place crosses and statues.

It's a place you really need to visit.

                                   

There is crosses everywhere

                                   

Before you walk to the hill, you can buy an own cross or statue and place wherever you want on the hill. 

We did that, to remember my son that I lost at 34 weeks.

                                                                

You could feel deep inside your body and soul, how holy and spiritual the place is. I felt so close to the spiritual world when I was there. It was very, very special to visit that place. I really recommend you to go there.

                                                                

A holy statue of Jesus. Some statues and crosses was massive! 

                                                                

                                                                

Here is on the left side of the hill. Thousands and thousands of crosses.

                                    

I left the place with a lot of feelings. Reading on all those crosses and statues made me feel with those people who had placed their own memory on the hill.


/A warm hug from me to you all

Sort:  

Yeah, that is considered one of the creepiest place in Lithuania. Though it's not creepy at all, it's just uncommon. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51