Oahu, Hawaii

in #travel7 years ago

20170403_121006.jpg

Hello Steemit friends! I wanted to share with you a few photos and some of my experiences from my trip to Oahu.

20170330_124917.jpg

We stayed on the eastern edge of Waikiki Beach. I love this area, it is on the edge of the tourist area, near the Zoo, great snorkeling spots, close to shops and restaurants. We spent a couple days snorkeling and checking out Waikiki, after that we rented a car to get out of the city and really explore the island.

20170330_085827.jpg
Duke Kahanamoku Statue

One of our first stops was Diamond Head State Park.

20170403_115500.jpg
Looking East from Lookout

20170403_120951.jpg
View of Waikiki from Lookout

Diamond Head is one of Oahu's most recognized landmarks. It sits high above the ocean offering panoramic views of Waikiki and the south shore of Oahu. Diamond Head is a saucer-shaped crater that was formed 300,000 years ago during a single eruption. When you pull into the parking lot you are sitting in the middle of the bowl and can look up for a 360degree view of the crest. The trail up to the lookout is slightly demanding, it is steep, gaining 560ft of elevation. At the summit, you will see old bunkers and other lookouts used in the past by the military to help protect Oahu's south shore. (I would plan this for early in the day, it gets hot with little shade!)

As we continued along the east side of the island we stopped at many of the beaches and lookouts, and drove along the Koolau mountain range. The highway is a narrow two lane road that hugs the coast.

20170403_131338.jpg

Then we headed to the North shore this was my favorite area, we stopped and watched the surfers and admired the waves.

20170331_085133.jpg
It is hard to tell but a local told us the waves were 25ft tall!

We snorkeled and paddle boarded with sea turtles at Laniakea Beach. For a late lunch we had the best coconut shrimp at Tsues Farm where they have tortoises wondering around.

20170331_122327.jpg

20170331_113521_HDR.jpg

The next day we drove to the Dole Plantation, I wanted to try the famous Dole Whip, soft-served ice-cream. The plantation was neat and I am glad we went there but it is a tourist trap, over crowded with overpriced souvenirs.

The last day of our trip was probably the best. We drove to Pearl Harbor and spent the morning touring the U.S.S. Arizona Memorial and walking through the museums. It was such a surreal experience to stand were so many men and women lost their lives and where such a historic event occurred. (Make sure you GPS U.S.S. Arizona Memorial, not Pearl Harbor)

20170404_080438.jpg

20170404_091027.jpg

20170404_075953.jpg

Oahu is one of the most beautiful locations I have ever seen, the locals are incredible and the food was amazing. I cannot wait for my next opportunity to go back to Hawaii and explore other islands.

20170331_091453.jpg

"I would rather own little and see the world than own the world and see little of it!"

Sort:  

love the photos always wanted to visit Hawaii one of these days I plan to just went to Jamica a while back loved it. I love your picture of the waves it would be cool to see big waves like that

Great photos of Oahu, I had the pleasure of living there for 3 years and certainly, I learned a lot and experienced a lot as well. Did you get a chance to visit the west side of the island and also Hanauma Bay?

Thank you for the response! It would be so wonderful to live there! We did go to Hanauma Bay, so beautiful! I missed a lot of photo opportunities because I left my phone and camera in the car! :/ As far as exploring the eastside of the Island, I only made it out to the point to watch the sunset and then we turned around and drove down the highway that runs through the center of the island. I want to go back, there was still so much to see!

Nice! Next time try to visit Tantalus. You'll have a great view of diamond head and Honolulu. There are so much more great places to check out!

This is a place I would like to visit sometime. Nice post. You have given me some ideas on places to see if I ever get there. :) Thanks for sharing!

Great post & love the pictures, keep up the great work and steem on. Maybe someday I will visit Oahu it looks like a wonderful place.

those are some really amazing photographs. Well done.

I would love to visit Hawii too!
Great pictures :)

Hello @mygypsysoul. Thank you for sharing your photos.

Friendly Reminder:
1. If you shoot this photo yourself but share at other web site before post on Steemit, please remember to link back to the web site because Cheetah is very clever.
2. If you share someone else photos, please remember to link back the sources of the photos and add some value by adding your own thought or comment.

Photography Slogan: A camera that puts a world of possibilities at your fingertips. Literally.

Okay, thank you! These are all my photos taken just with my cell phone, LG V20! And the only place I have posted them to are my private FB page.

Those pics bring back memories. I used to live in Waipahu, Oahu. It was the ghetto they don't show on TV. I woke up one Sunday morning to a methed out Samoan shooting an AK-47 outside my window. Good times.

Congratulations @mygypsysoul! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75