myday #1 - Visiting Hong Kong

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I always feel privileged to travel the world to witness amazing places. @myday ended up in Hong Kong and it was a place that I will never forget.

Arriving at the airport, Grace and I explored numerous transportation options before deciding to find a bus which would take us to the bustling Hong Kong district. I must say, leaving the comfort of the airport was a strange feeling. The air was thick, hot and humid, so our decision to jump aboard the old slightly air conditioned bus seemed like the best idea since the refrigerator was invented!

DSCF7159.jpg

Huge bridges spanned the environment all the way to Hong Kong

The view from the top of the bus window as excellent. I found very few scratches on the glass which allowed me to press the camera up against the window to capture some shots of the passing traffic, the spectacular bridges and huge buildings that sometimes crowded the side of the roadway.

China 018.jpg

Driving into Hong Kong from the airport this was the view from the double decker bus window

The sun had disappeared behind the foggy haze which seemed to be a mix of pollution and golden haze as we entered the great city. Walking over an overpass the view down to the open street reflected the speed of what it was like to live in this city - fast!

China 030.jpg

The streets of Hong Kong were extremely busy. This tram shot along its track like a slot car in a child's racing game!

I wasn't deterred by the busyness though, I embraced it. I throughly enjoy a fast paced environment.

We were in Hong Kong to have lunch and meet a cousin of Grace's along with his family. The restaurant was situated high up above a shopping mall. I manage to capture this one shot to reflect the view.

China 033.jpg

A gentleman on a phone overlooking the view from the restaurant

The hotpot was delightful! I couldn't have asked for anything better. Marbled meat, fresh seafood, succulent juicy vegetables and tasty broth - yum! I thought I had died and gone to heaven.

DSCF7357.jpg

Fresh meat with marbled fat through it

DSCF7359.jpg

Perfectly wrapped wontons

DSCF7358.jpg

Meat delicacy - I have no idea what it was but it was so yuumy

DSCF7360.jpg

Eight succulent juicy prawns awaiting their hotpot bath

After our gourmet lunch experience we ventured onto the noisy street, which was full of conversation and wonder.

China 034.jpg

No matter where I looked the streets were busy in every direction

I must admit, I had never been to a place that was so busy. Understanding Hong Kong's history was something I wanted to take away from the day. Meeting Grace's family was certainly a great memory from the visit and in saying that I hope I get to meet them again.

If you ever do get the chance to go to Hong Kong I highly recommend getting out of your comfort zone to try some of the great restaurants there. You won't just get to experience the food, but the culture itself. Everything including eating is fast paced, accommodation is small and the people seem happy with what they have. It truly is a city I would like to live in one day.

@myday in Hong Kong was extremely enjoyable and hopefully one day you get to experience the wonders of this modern city like I did. Be sure to follow me at @myday to learn more about my journey with Grace and how we experience the world.

Leave a comment if you enjoyed the photos!

Leigh Diprose :)

Sort:  

Beautiful photos ! :) Bridge on first photo look like Golden Gate !

The bridge certainly did @nybble! It was amazing, as one bridge ended another would start - it went on for miles. Mind blowing construction.

Awesome! Very nice!

@myday Welcome to Hong Kong! Hong Kong is a place full of mult-culture in different districts:) it's good to spend few days to explore the city and the islands around! Hope you and Grace have a good time here:) Cheers!

@gladysmak thanks! The view over Hong Kong is spectacular and I love the food!

Yikes! Your food pictures are making me feel hungry!
I have been to Hong Kong many years ago, but I didn't travel through the bridge. I used the ferry services instead.
If you think Hong Kong is hot and humid during Summer time, then you better try Malaysia later. You pretty much will melt in its humidity. haha.

haha I'm sure I would @littkenewthings - I'm like a snowman!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65792.35
ETH 2676.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90