Fusion with Nature: the beautiful Delta of The Danube.

in #travel7 years ago

Plane ticket, tent, guitar, backpack, rental car at the airport, a map and… no plans: all set to go for a solo adventure! 

I love doing that: I come home enriched of tons of beautiful and exciting stories, with my eyes still sparkling of the wonders I have seen and experienced.

What I want to share with you is the breathtaking day I spent in The Delta of The Danube while I was travelling across Romania. 


It all starts in Tulcea, East of Romania, a small town bordering the Delta: 


I had planned to join one of these touristic tour thingies. But the evening before, I met some locals with whom I shared a little too many beers, so missed the departures in the early morning. 

So here I was, on the docks at 11AM, wandering around, looking for an alternative, and then I met Neru. He offered me to take me on his little motor boat 1-on-1 for a day visit, and at the same time, he could visit his buddies living in The Delta. The fee was a little higher, yet still reasonable, so I accepted. The time I spent with this non-english speaking local dude was worth every cent! 

And here we go! 

(play the video, it’s just 1-minute long, and it will make you dive into the story)


What I noticed first was the amazing biodiversity. I knew this was quite a place to be for photography, especially bird photography, but I actually had no idea how beautiful the fauna was:


The atmosphere was quite unique: the apparent calm was hiding a place teaming with life!



There are not many, but some locals live there self-sufficiently, isolated on mini islands where they grow their own food. It made me think of the “Petit Prince”, where the weird characters live on their own tiny planets. 

Neru and I stopped to visit some of his friends living there, and I was invited to join them for lunch, lunch that had been swimming in The Danube just few minutes earlier! 

It was quite an experience to meet these people, and the food was so tasty!


And I noticed these little buddies hiding under the roof of their house.


Then, Neru and I jumped back on the boat and we continued the exploration, diving deeper into the Delta


Going back to the city, we had some fun on the way. Neru gave me control of the boat with my body weight: Cool sensations, I really enjoyed that!


This was an amazing day that ended up at my guide’s home, where I enjoyed dinner with his family. 

So next time you are in Tulcea, do not register on these organized tours… Instead, hang out on the touristic docks, ask for Neru (picture below), and cross your fingers he is around to take you on an intimate discovery of the Delta!


The map was created using snapchots of Googlemaps.
The video, the music on the video and all photos are by me.


Hi,
I’m @muphy,
and my life revolves around music production, teaching sciences, and discovery through travel.
You enjoyed that post?    Resteem and Upvote!
You are interested in these topics?    Follow me!

 



Sort:  

Very nice post! I actually missed it completely. I love the picture with the double bird by the way :)

Thank you. It was one my first posts, one of those I am still really proud of.

I had been on Steemit for just a few weeks then, it went completely under the radar. I wish it was allowed to repost... Maybe I will reformulate it one day, and share that adventure again :-)

It is very hard to get noticed, when one starts. Steemstem is still small enough so that it works pretty ok. But in the future, I am afraid that we may miss users (except of a;; the community starts to help somehow :p )

Just upvoted an other Rumania post. Beautiful! Thanks for bringing back memories from that special place. I spend there 4 weeks with my brother in 1979 with our foldable cajack. What great time paddling over lakes clear like cristals and above pelicans, herons...only in the evening the moskitos were a plague. We had good company with the fishermans and farmers in Caraorman. What marvelousfish borsch we eat! But it was a dark time as well because of police and the bad guy and his clique in the capital...

You are warmly welcome @johano, yes it is a very special place indeed! You should visit it again: It is still as beautiful, people have remained authentic, especially in the delta itself, and of course there is no hassle related to police anymore!

Yeah and there is no danger of destroing the Delta as Ceausescu wanted to do.

Excellent post @muphy keep coming these kind of posts into steemit

Thank you @saimegh. I am glad you appreciated it. it was a beautiful esxperience and I am happy to share it with my Steemian peers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38