Hidden Gems in Delhi - My Family Travel Diary

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Ignore the obvious tourist attractions

Having been to Delhi more times than I remember, I usually approach India's capital city the same way that Londoners approach London. In other words, ignore all the obvious tourist attractions, they're part of the scenery and only actual tourists visit them. The only break from this norm was two years ago when I visited Delhi with my husband and Mini Me 1 and Mini Me 2 for the first time.

Acting like a local

My Chachaji (uncle) wanted to show my husband all the tourist spots of Delhi and we went to Red Fort, India Gate, Qutab Minar and Himayoun's Tomb. They all have a rich history and are well worth visiting, however on our recent trip to Delhi I was 'acting like a local' again. And I guess when I go to Delhi I am a local because it’s home to me when I am in India. It’s where my family house is and where my family live. This also means I get to find about and visit little hidden gems. I’m going to share them with you:

Hauz Khas Village

Hauz Khas Village is residential and commercial area in South Delhi. It’s a hub for designers, artist and fashion enthusiasts. The narrow lanes remind me of the back streets in central Venice. My youngest sister works in one of the galleries, Art Konsult, where there was some amazing artwork on display. Mini Me 1 has a great time photographing all the exhibits! My sister introduced us to her favourite local hang out, Gypsy Café. It’s a small but stylish place and has a totally chilled out and creative vibe.

39B80FF3-0655-402E-B971-5A6AC47F4609.jpeg

FF02FC3E-C8C6-4320-9242-2BD758A3ABC7.jpeg

352BA98C-27AA-4DD3-AA3C-5147A17D2736.jpeg

Deer Park

Deer Park is right next to Hauz Khas Village. The park is a beautiful oasis of calm in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Delhi. The further you walk into the park the more the traffic and noise of Delhi’s roads become a distant memory. The park is quite big, so much so that we didn’t actually make it to the Deer enclosure! There are historical tombs from the Mughal era, old monuments and Hauz Khas lake. When we visited there two weeks ago, there were some singers rehearsing in one of the monuments. This is typical of the creative vibe in Hauz Khas village and I love it!

FBA9DABC-DCD4-4845-9D07-3E2EF98708C5.jpeg

35E9B1B3-EEAF-4850-BEF9-2C1D5A70E7CB.jpeg

208B7864-82C1-45B8-A552-35851FDADCF5.jpeg

54C6F630-C058-4ECA-A68B-D70AB3FA7F56.jpeg

Lajpat Nagar

I find it weird that many of my friends who have visited Delhi several times don’t know about Lajpat Nagar in South Delhi. It’s one of my favourite places to shop when I visit Delhi. In my opinion the swanky new malls don’t compare to this colourful maze of stalls and shops. You can get pretty much everything sold in the malls but at a much lower price. You can also get your mendhi (henna) done at the side of the road for a very reasonable price! It’s great for Indian wear and jewelry. This time I picked up some gorgeous lengha’s for my daughters and myself, and two pairs of Punjabi jutis (shoes). The clothing shops have amazing service and if you’re buying a ready made outfit that doesn’t quite fit or hang well, they can adjust it for you at no extra cost. Lajpat Nagar has a very conveniently located Metro station which is great too.

73F1F20C-BACA-489E-A08B-CE483907FCB6.jpeg

Dilli Haat

This is one the hidden gems that I wish I had had time to visit. It was on the agenda, but we ran out of time. Dilli Haat is an open air craft bazaar where the stalls operate on a rotational basis so that crafts men from different regions of India get a chance to display and sell their products. My mum is a regular visitor to Dilli Haat and is always showing me her purchases and photos of the market and handicrafts. There are lots of good eating places there too. Next time I visit Delhi I’m making a beeline for this place!

11610782-54C1-40BF-9E78-833FC4A74D98.jpeg

Tibetan Market

Another interesting place that I wish I had visited was the Tibetan Market in the Civil Lines area of Delhi. My husband and cousin went there and ate lunch at a Korean restaurant. My husband told me he felt like he’d stepped into another country. The whole area is inhabited by refugees from Tibet and the market is known for its collection of winter clothing and Tibetan handicrafts.

B261EC99-5643-4969-A105-679BB9AE39BA.jpeg

1B55E8AE-FBF1-4EC6-B340-5339DDE6E613.jpeg

I love the fact that Delhi is so random and crazy. One minute you can feel like you’re in Tibet and the next minute it’s like you’re walking through the backstreets of Venice! There is so much so see and do. I’m already looking forward to my next visit!

MummyImperfect x

Sort:  

love the pics and coverage! i live in the states, but am coming to delhi next week to come visit family actually! good to know steemtians are everywhere. maybe ill hafta organize a small meetup and create a song or video to share regarding our adventures! Delhi is beautiful and has such life. Needless to say it can be a little hectic sometimes, but def one of a kind! Glad to see you hit all the sites! Lajput Nagar is def the place to shop. I got some rad shirts there last March when I was there! I look forward to seeing what I can find this time on my trip!

I have a special place in my heart for Delhi, despite the pollution and madness! Yess! good to know you also like Lajpat Nagar :)
A song or video about adventures in Delhi sounds great! Have fun.

I really would love to visit India one day :-). On of the places I would love to visit is Kashmir where the Bollywood dancers usually dances in movies. Your daughter looks so cute dancing in the back of the car and the kids look lovely in their dresses/sari :-).

My parents recently visited Kashmir and said it’s like heaven on earth. You should really visit India one day, there’s so much to see there. Thanks for reading and watching :)

nice travel update and review of dehli

Thanks for sharing dear keep it up I follow you and upvote you

I have never been to Delhi, so it's nice to be able to see Delhi trough your eyes @mummyimperfect. Thanks for sharing.!

One question: What is the picture just above the text "Lajpat Nagar" ?

Thanks for reading. The photo you are referring to is a piece of artwork on the wall of Gypsy Cafe which is a small eatery in Hauz Khas Village. It really caught my eye (get it!) so I just had to take a photo and share.

interesting piece of art. It looks like the eye of the universe. Nice!

delhi is an amazing place to visit but its image hasn't been good all over the world due to pollution. I hope we will join hands and work together to stop pollution

You’re right. The pollution is causing a lot of people to get ill these days. Something needs to change.

thats so amazing..thanks for sharing such beauty @mummyimperfect

Aloha dear one! Maybe next time will come very soon and that you and your family can stay a lot longer. You know what surprises me most about your hidden gem in Delhi? The Tibetan monks. I didn’t know that.

Thank you for sharing. Aloha.

Thank you for reading. Yes I found that surprising too. Although I have visited a place called Dharamshala in northern India where lots of Tibetans live and the Dalai Lama lives there. You feel as though you are in in Tibet not India!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83