Kids eat scorpion - Siem Reap, Cambodia leaving mixed reviews

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

The thing I love about travelling with kids is they are fearless when it comes to trying new foods! On a recent trip into town for dinner, the kids decided to give scorpions a try.

snap (1).jpg

They are the perfect taste testers. Before I make my decision to partake in the new cuisine before us, they are always willing to take a hit for the team and try things first.

This time I said no, I couldn't imagine chewing on the hard shell of the scorpion and feared whatever juices may oooze from the inside.

Many of Cambodia's food plants were wiped out during the terror Khmer Rouge reign, forcing locals to turn to alternative sustainable food sources like bugs and insects to keep them alive. Many locals today still consume these protein-rich foods and many of these Cambodian delicacies can be found sold by street vendors around town.

Would you eat a scorpion?? What is the strangest thing you have eaten?

**Have you voted for your witness yet???
Vote @adsactly for witness - open: https://steemit.com/~witnesses
In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign
Or give us a direct vote here
Thank you!

steemamas.png
https://discord.gg/MVNw8NH

blog footer steemit.png

Sort:  

PASS

😅
@AdGoggleKo Just tweeted your post. 😊

Hahahahaha....my thoughts too! I am constantly amazed at the iron stomachs lol.

Thanks for sharing too :)

Oh wow! She's so brave!

Th strangest thing I've eaten so far are frogs and snake (my mom didn't tell me it is actually a snake). That's the first and last.

Braver than me that's for sure! Snakes and frogs are eaten here too. I have tries a little but was still not brave enough to have a big bite!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Oh wow. No thank you! That is so crazy! I can't believe they ate a scorpion, much less such a HUGE scorpion. Can you imagine finding that thing in your house? And then saying, "Hey, I think I'm going to roast this guy up and eat him!" Wow!!! Brave kids!!

I know right!! NO WAY would I wrap my lips around that!! They have done crickets, spiders, frogs, snakes, at times there meal requests make my jaw drop lol.

Saw some of your beautiful pics of the mountains you posted today. Looks divine and you are right, just like paintings, the pink was my fave :).

One of my husbands best friends, an American who lives in Siem Reap also, has just sold his business and is counting down the days until he relocates to Panama. not sure what expat life is like over there but in Cambodia you visit another provience and end up bumping into more than 3 people you already know or know someone that knows you. It's such a small world who knows you may bump into each other :)

It is true here too! We are always running into people we know - even when we drive an hour away. Where in Panama are they relocating to? I'm assuming Boquete...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50