The Totem Poles of Stanley Park in Vancouver, BC

in #travel6 years ago

One of the many highlights of my visit to Vancouver, BC was an afternoon in Stanley Park. @donvee and I walked from our condo to Brockton Point inside Stanley Park to see the famous totem poles. I'm pretty sure I read that all of the original ones are now in museums for preservation, but the most recent totem pole was carved by Robert Yelton of the Squamish Nation. It was added to Brockton Point in 2009.

Totems9.jpg

Each of the carvings on the totem poles have a meaning. Wolves, eagles, whales, bears, ravens - all of these creatures have a special meaning to the First Nations community.

Totems3.jpg

One of the most interesting was the mortuary totem pole, where the chief's remains would be placed inside.

Totems10.jpg

^^This one is a replica of Chief Skedans Mortuary Totem Pole.

Totems11.jpg

Seeing these was definitely a highlight of my time in Vancouver and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is traveling there.

Totems7.jpg

Thanks for checking out my post, I hope you enjoyed it! Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29