Black Sand Beaches of Hawaii

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Wow, it's been awhile since I last posted! I've been having more symptoms pop up from an autoimmune disease and have really let that bring me down. I just couldn't find the motivation to create a new post. Hopefully that's behind me for now!

While going through some of my photos from my last trip to Hawaii I came across some photos of a black sand beach we visited.

IMG_20171024_163355595_HDR.jpg

These were taken at Kehena in the Puna district on the Big Island. It was a little difficult to get to, you have to climb down a rocky lava cliff. A couple ahead of us seemed to be having a hard time finding a way down safely. Luckily, a few locals showed up just in time and we followed them down to the beach.

IMG_20171024_162633857_HDR.jpg

The sand is black due to small fragments of basalt from the volcano. The beach isn't far from Volcanoes National Park, which is a must-see if you visit the Big Island.

IMG_20171024_163251748_HDR.jpg

I heard that this is a popular nude beach, frequented by locals. However, we didn't see any nude sunbathers while we were there. We didn't get to do any swimming since the surf was rough and looked dangerous. It was almost deserted when we visited.

IMG_20171024_162845948_HDR.jpg

This beach is sometimes referred to as Dolphin Beach due to the spinner dolphins that frequent it's waters. We didn't see any dolphins, but it was still very beautiful.

IMG_20171024_162540384_HDR.jpg

Thanks for checking out my post!

Sort:  

And I thought it was sunny all the time in Hawaii, just like its always raining in England! This place looks very stormy and that beach reminds me of the black beaches of Lanzarote.

It rained almost every day while we were on the Big Island. The Kona side had less rain, but we still had to cancel our plans for snorkeling. Too much run off, so the visibility was terrible.

Boy, we need to get there.

We'll go with you guys! We're planning on February or March of 2021. I want to visit during whale season.

Vote back brother

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58