I'm Quitting My $150,000/year Job to Travel The World - And I'm Going To Fund It Entirely With Steem (try anyways)!

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

580.jpg

Let me preface this by saying that I was already planning on quitting to travel the world. These plans were set in motion months ago and the necessary funds set aside. But now, with the rise of SteemIt, I plan on funding all my travels with the Steem and below I'll explain how. 

TL;DR - My name is Tyler and I am quitting my $150,000 per year corporate job to travel the world and I'm going to user SteemIt as my platform to share my adventures with everyone. I'm super excited and definitely a little scared.

Why Am I Doing This?

Over the past year, I've been fortunate enough to live in London and Singapore. I've also been fortunate enough to visit 25+ countries in that same year, all while working and collecting a paycheck. This is both good and bad. Good in the sense that I can afford to travel and travel comfortably. Bad because a lot of my trips are limited to weekends or long weekends.

I'm forced to take late flights home or cut trips short and I'm also forced to squeeze in quite a bit into 2 days. Everyone now and then I can take an extended weekend but working in the corporate world, holidays are scarce.

While this past year has been great and I have absolutely zero regrets, I want more, I want to see more, I want to experience more. That is why I have decided to take a full year off and travel the world. I don't have an itinerary yet and I like it that way. But I have this unquenchable thirst to see the world and god dammit I aim to do just that.

How Do I Plan On Doing This?

By writing kick-ass content on SteemIt of course. Up until now I have been keeping a travel blog. It was setup as a hobby and a way to keep family and friends updated on my life abroad as an expat in both London and now Singapore. This has been great and family and friends have enjoyed reading the articles and looking at the photos and videos. But it hasn't gone anywhere past that.

sedona-hiking.jpg

Enter SteemIt. I have a voice here and that voice can be heard. All I need to do is provide content that fellow Steemers find valuable and what a way to say thanks to the SteemIt community than to prove to everyone that Steem can be used as a social media platform and as a currency.

My plan is simple. As needed, I will change Steem Dollars to Bitcoin. From there I will use Xapo to store the Bitcoin and the Xapo debit card to provide the cash needed to survive on the road.

Now I know some will argue that I am not technically using Steem but at this early stage it is really the best option. So until a Steem debit card is introduced this will be the mode of operation.

What You Can Expect From Me On SteemIt? 

Bomb ass articles, photos and videos. Amazing stories and adventures. My promise to the SteemIt community is to keep you updated every step of the way. SteemIt has become my blogging platform and now is the time to establish my voice.

There's a good chance there will be videos of me rock climbing, hiking and surfing and photos of amazing landscapes and cityscapes. There will almost certainly be stories of me getting into and out of trouble (I hope) or making poor decisions (bad habit of mine).

So What Happens Now?

Follow along for the ride. It is set to kick off in a couple months as I start tidying up loose ends here. 

127.jpg

I see an exciting year ahead for both myself and Steem and I hope you join me! Jump on in!

Tyler

www.life-of-ty.com

msutyler

Sort:  

Cool. You have some balls to do this. Many of us dream of doing this but don't have the confidence to take the plunge. Best of luck. I hope it works out:)

Trust me, it frightens me to death. The security of a job and it's benefits can hold you down forever.

if he was making 150k a year he may have few hundred thousands in his bank account for security just in case :D
and plus he can come back and find a job at 100k salary.....

Very awesome! I'll be writing some posts on traveling, maybe we'll cross paths or can share tips! Congrats!

Haha, love the gif, as sadistic as that little mutt was. Hopefully we do cross paths. I'll let you know when things get started!

yeah; that show has quite a few poeple we love to hate i.e. Ramsey Bolton:

Sure thing buddy. You go travel and enjoy yourself. A bunch of internet strangers will pay for it all.

You're very welcome.

Of course they will, I mean he is going to provide kick-ass content of him having an amazing time paid for by all these strangers, why wouldn't they fund someone else's own personal enjoyment?! That's the functional purpose of strangers in 2016, after all. Do you even GoFundMeVacationBrah?!

Good for you! Life's to short to sit around and work to die!

amen. Literally shaking with excitement writing this post. I've been waiting forever to pen this.

do you fit in a backpack?

"Make sure to put a lot of tags on your posts"
No actually, don't do that, because you'll get flagged for spamming tags.

Flagged for tag spam:
["money","whattowrite","hack","awesome","winter","likeforlike","cool","makebank","subscribe","funny","subscribeforsubscribe","howto","steem","tagsforlikes","summer","makemoney","thebest","steemit","mit","tags","whattopostonsteemit","tagsforsubscribe","fall","alldayeveryday","bank","steemitposts","likes","amazing","photography","the-hack","introduceyourself","tutorial","whattopost","fun"

Good job! Travelling the world is something i plan to do in the near future and I'm sure you will be able create some interesting posts on this platform of your travels. Enjoy!!

I hope so. I was planning on blogging anyway. I'm hoping that the readers here will enjoy the posts.

steemit will be so full of travel content soon that it won't work... but give it a try :-D

I'll do my best @danieleder. If I fail then so be it but I'll be damned if I don't try. However, as I mentioned in my post, I have the funds necessary to travel but I am going to give it a go with just Steem. Here goes nothing.

I suggest you to not make life decisions on something you met a week ago.
Luckily quitting a job is a long procedure. Maybe already in a week time you will realize it is a bit not pleasant idea.

Thanks for the reply. If you read the post or the TL;DR, I've been planning this for quite some time. Much longer than a week. The rise of Steem played zero role in me wanting to travel the world. It just provided a possible avenue to do so.

Good luck in your adventures, Tyler! We'll be rooting for you and waiting to see where your journeys take you!

Thanks! Still a long road ahead. Lots of planning and tidying up loose ends but it has begun and that's what matters.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64403.69
ETH 3463.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50