Short Holiday at Siem Reap

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_5919.JPG

I was supposed to travel with some friends to see the magnificent Angkor Wat for ourselves but a most loved relative fell very ill on the eve of the trip. I had to be around and told my friends to proceed without me.

IMG_5917.JPG

I finally made the trip three years later with another group of friends. The Angkor Wat with its vast intricate stone buildings and carvings and the mysterious Bayon Temple at Angkor Thom did not disappoint at all.

IMG_5913.JPG

Our only complaint about the holiday was the heat. We made the mistake of travelling to Cambodia during its hottest time of the year. Although, the country has its own currency, we had to pay for everything including food from roadside street vendors in US dollars. Our tuk-tuk driver, Bunnak whom we engaged for the four days was always taking us to restaurants although we tried explaining that we want to also experience local homecooked cuisine.

IMG_5914.JPG
(Busy Pub Street by day)

The hotel we checked into was lovely and tranquil. However, when I caught little wafts of a strange smell outside the hotel room, I discovered that there was a crocodile farm next to the hotel! Looking across the hotel courtyard while standing on a chair, I could see a number of pools loaded with live crocodiles lazing or thrashing about. I don't know if the farm is legit as the facade of the next door building looked like somebody's residence.

IMG_5915.JPG
(Hotel entrance)

For the three nights we were at Siem Reap, our favourite haunt was the famous Pub Street. Pubs and restaurants are often crowded with merry tourists. Souvenir stores are also abundant here. Unfortunately, to my own surprise I only managed to buy a couple pairs of harem pants for myself and nothing at all for the kiddo.

IMG_5916.JPG
(Busy Pub Street by night)

Sort:  

Greetings from Cambodia, and thank you for visiting our country.... I hope you enjoyed your time to the fullest...

Thank you. Cambodia is beautiful and its people are so friendly. I had a good time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64