Great Wall

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_5004.JPG

It was less than 2 months to the end of year financial closing when our insurance principal challenged us to achieve an ad-hoc sales target to win an all expense paid trip to Beijing. I pushed and pushed my team to go all out to meet the target so that we could earn a ticket or two for our boss. So that our boss would appreciate our effort and sign a bigger bonus check for his hardworking lot.

IMG_4686.JPG

Nobody believed what we could achieve when nudged with a little motivation. While other high achieving agencies earned a maximum of three tickets, my team earned an unprecedented twelve tickets! We were truly an invincible team. My boss had a field day bragging to his business friends.

IMG_5009.JPG

Three months later, twelve deserving staff including me(of course) flew to Beijing for a week of shopping and sightseeing. It was hectic and certainly fun in numbers.

IMG_5011.JPG

This post is dedicated to the team that worked so hard for the opportunity to visit China and the memorable day spent at the magnificent Great Wall where thousands of men slaved so long ago to build this 'dragon' that wound its way up and down mountains and valleys for almost 21,000 kilometres.

IMG_5006.JPG

The Great Wall is so old that several sections are in ruins or have disappeared. From a distance, the Wall appears easy to scale. I never expected it to be so difficult and tiring to ascend or descend the treacherous steps. Many of the steps are worn down or broken. The tread width is narrow and makes me wonder if ancient Chinese men like the womenfolk had bound feet too! Exhausted climbers sat on the steps preventing other climbers from reaching or holding on to the railings.

IMG_5013.JPG

I am very fearful of heights and only managed to complete the climb with much encouragement from my friends. I bought a certificate to authenticate my successful effort and was sorry for myself when I found out later that anyone can purchase a certificate without climbing at all.

IMG_4997.JPG

When in Beijing, do not miss a visit and feast eyes and senses on the old grandeur and architectural wonder of the Great Wall of China!

IMG_5015.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49