People of Myanmar - 5

in #travel7 years ago

Hello dear Steemians and welcome to the 5th episode of my "People of Myanmar" - series.

Today I want to take you to one of the most famous - and most frequently visited - places in Myanmar: Bagan.

Located in an area called Mandalay, Bagan was the capital of the Pagan Kingdom (9th - 13th century) that united the modern Myanmar for the first time in history.

This is not supposed to be a history lesson, but what you guys have to know is that they built more than 10.000 pagodas, temples and monasteries during that time. It is incredibly beautiful and impressive.

The best way to explore Bagan is to ride little electro-bikes that can be rented everywhere around the village. The first morning in Bagan, I got up very very early and went to a famous temple on my bike. People go there to enjoy the sunrise over this beautiful area, look what I shot (if you do that, make sure you wear warm clothes, it was freezing in my t-shirt):

myanmar_bagan 2.jpg

This is the temple that I climbed for the previous picture.

myanmar_bagan2.jpg

A few more tempels / pagodas in the area.

DSC02538.jpg

DSC02581.jpg

![myanmar_pagodagolden2.jpg]
()

myanmar_pagoden.jpg

The local soccer team, it felt almost profane that they played soccer near these ancient sacred places.

myanmar_fußball.jpg

Some people living in and around Bagan.

Myanmar_kleinerTyp.jpg

DSC02276.jpg

DSC02526.jpg

To close this blog entry, I want to show you a picture of sunset that I took from the same temple as the one of sunrise.

Myanmar_Bagan.jpg

I hope you found this episode interesting, don't forget to upvote, comment and reshare,

Love,

mr.wonderlust

Sort:  

Super cool pics! I have always been fascinated with Myanmar, formerly Burma, and appreciate learning a little bit more about it from your post.

thank you, it is an awesome place, you should go visit!

I would like to. The beauty of it's people, history, and natural setting truly has intrigued me throughout my life.

Perhaps I will someday have an opportunity to visit. Until then, your post has helped me to share a little in those things.

Thank you!

that is exactly what I aim to do! Stay tuned for more of my stories, I still have a lot to share :-)

View was very spectacular . Well done

thank you! yes it was spectacular and it basically is all the time in there...

Fantastic report. Mood level of your photos: Incredible.

thank you man, so happy to hear that :-D

Beautiful pictures and interesting post.

Congratulations ! Your post has been highlighted in the Daily Travel Reports

thank you, i am honored :-)

Hello @mrwanderlust, I do really love Myanmar and your people are uniquely kind and helpful; I just made a post about Burmese food, please have a check on my blog, and share that with your people. Respect and love your people! Bests! I am from Cambodia.

hey, I am not Burmese actually I just visited that country :-) gonna check out your post now, cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43