Java Stories - BOROBUDUR

in #travel7 years ago

Dear friends! Welcome to one of my
"Java Stories".



Borobudur


Borobudur_2.jpg

Three weeks ago, I spent a week traveling in and around Yogyakarta, Java, Indonesia. One of the most important stops was a Borobudur Temple.

Me and my friend got up at 4:30 to climb up on the temple for sunrise. It turned out that the light was very bad, no proper sunrise at all. Additionally, the place was crowded even though it was crazily early in the morning. So photographically, I was a bit disappointed.

Borobudur_1.jpg

On the other hand, the temple is amazing. Those round things - I honestly have no idea what to call them - have some kind of mysterious beauty to them. And also the sheer size of the building: Breathtaking.

Borobudur_size.jpg

Borobudur_buddha.jpg

When leaving, we met some Indonesian girls who wanted to practice speaking English by telling us stuff about Borobudur's history. When I started talking Indo to them, they couldn't stop giggling anymore...

Borobudur_mädels.jpg

In case you are interested in reading something about the temple, you can do that here on wikipedia.

I hope I was able to get at least some of the excitement I felt in Borobudur across to you guys. Give me an upvote and follow me for more photography and travel stories if you like!



Till then,
keep wandering and wondering,

Love,

mr.wonderlust

Sort:  

Such narrative photos everytime.

thanks a lot, happy to hear that!

Upped & resteemed bro.

Can't wait to get there myself! Especially with the drone ;)

thanks a lot, Sam! I have to disappoint you, though: Drones are strictly forbidden in all temples I were in Java. They have huge signs everywhere. I carried my phantom to each and every temple only to never use it at all...:-(

Ah well! Good to know. If only they had silent drones!!!

Thanks for the info ;)

Good one. They are called Stupas, btw. :-) Did you allow enough time to visit Prambanam, and all the little temples dotted aroudn the place? It is quite an awesome spot, no? Looking forward to more photos from you!

oh yeah Stupas, I forgot. I visited Prambanan, also wrote something about it before. But to be honest, I have seen more impressive temples... I guess Angkor just ruined temples for me...

ha...ha... mungkin para siswa tersebut kaget... woow ada bule bisa bahasa Indonesia (May be the students was suprised... woow there is a foreigner can speak Indonesia).

haha iya mereka kaget. Ga usah menerjemahkan kalimatmu untuk aku :-) aku mau latihan juga kan...

Oh.. siap, saya akan mencoba membuat kalimat yang mudah dimengerti dan menggunakan susunan kata yang benar. Saya senang sekali dengan orang yang mau belajar budaya orang lain melalui bahasa.

Jika ada kata-kata yang kurang dimengerti silakan ditanyakan kepada saya. Saya juga sedang belajar bahasa Inggris dan mempelajari karakter budaya yang ada di dalam bahasa itu sendiri . Salam dan Terima kasih ! :)

bagus, saya mengerti semuanya. Salam dan terima kasih kembali!

Truly a treasure of humanity. Thank you for the lovely post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64156.67
ETH 3169.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53