Latin America Travels: Part 1

in #travel7 years ago

Hola Compañeros,

In 2016/2017 I made the decision to quit my job and take on a monster trip through some of The Caribbean, Central America and South America. I've been back in the UK now for around four months and am using the Christmas break to put the travel blog together so I hope you can enjoy it and possibly take some inspiration away to encourage you to head out for yourself.

This is a documentaion of the first half of my journey.

Spain

I appreciate this isn't Latin America however my first stop was Spain, where I have some relatives. I suppose there was a subtle irony to beginning here before embarking on the voyage across the Atlantic like that of the first explorers, except I imagine their journey to be less than an 8 hour flight to Havana from Madrid. I essentially used this as a base to start from but got some cool city breaks in and visited some incredible mountain scenery while there.

Bolulla, Spain

IMG_1150.jpg

Sitges, Spain

IMG_0716.jpg

Sitges, Spain

IMG_0740.jpg

Barcelona, Spain

IMG_0619.jpg


Cuba

After the flight to Havana I had to negotiate with a taxi driver to take me into a prearranged 'casa particular' without any CUC (Cuban Convertible Pesos) and stop at a hotel to switch some euros. I won't go into details about the complexity of Cuba's economics but I will say it is much more complicated initially to pay for anything there. I Arrived at an old town house in Old Havana and was greeted by a lovely old lady who ran it as a bed and breakfast.

I spent a few days in Havana absorbing the atmosphere, drinking and eating before heading to Viñales. My time was fairly limited in the country and I stayed for just over a week in total which is no where near enough time to appreciate the countries diversity and unique blend of afro-hispanic culture.

Viñales, Cuba

IMG_1314.jpg

Havana, Cuba

IMG_1198.jpg

Havana, Cuba

IMG_1215.jpg

Viñales, Cuba

IMG_1246.jpg

Havana, Cuba

IMG_1222.jpg

Havana, Cuba

Havana, Cuba

IMG_1206.jpg


Mexico

Mexico is potentially the top country I regret not travelling much more of. I stuck to the Yucatan and Quintana Roo which are quite heavy tourist spots in truth however fell geographically conveniently for me due to my plans of heading south. Mexico has some of the most beautfiul beaches I have ever seen and the food was probably the best of my entire trip (great veggie and vegan selection too if that's your thing).

Tulum, Mexico

IMG_1364.jpg

Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

IMG_1348.jpg

Solidaridad Cenote, Mexico

IMG_1389.jpg

Tulum, Mexico

IMG_1372.jpg


Belize

A brief visit through this small but magnificent country was well worth the time. I stopped at Caye Caulker which is a tiny island in the Caribbean Sea which is amazing for cuisine, boat trips out to sea to see an insane amount of marine life and sunbathing. I also paid a visit to the border town of San Ignacio which is where I did the most incredible caving trip of entire tour. Unfortunately cameras were not permitted due to the current preservation laws about flash photography because of all the Mayan remains visible still. Its like walking through the most interesting interactive museum you've ever been in whilst having to jump and crawl through rivers and cliff climbs.

Caye Caulker, Belize

IMG_1401 2.jpg

Belize City, Belize

IMG_1400.jpg

San Ignacio, Belize

IMG_1424.jpg


Guatemala

Hands down a must visit location, Guatemala is the gem of Central America. For starters its extremely cheap, has some of the most friendly people and is of outstanding natural beauty. I spent approximate a month there and could have happily spent more time. Travel times between to locations are long but the jaw dropping scenery that's panoramically available throughout the duration makes travelling there so satisfying.

Flores, Guatemala

IMG_1486.jpg

Tikal, Guatemala

IMG_1535.jpg

Tikal, Guatemala

IMG_1569.jpg

Lanquin, Guatemala

IMG_1601 2.jpg

Lanquin, Guatemala

IMG_1615.jpg

Antigua, Guatemala

IMG_1633 2.jpg

Volcan Alotenango, Guatemala

IMG_1681.jpg

Lago Atitlan, Guatemala

IMG_1719 2.jpg


El Salvador

A relatively unexplored country in Central America, El Salvador boasts some awesome surfing breaks off El Tunco and quite a few other places down the coast. It has some cool Volcanoes and hikes you can do but the level of security and visible guns especially in San Salvador would make most a little uneasy to most travellers. The countries bloody history has inspired some great street art though and beaches are virtually tourist free outside of Tunco.

San Luis, El Salvador

IMG_1937.jpg

San Luis, El Salvador

IMG_1944.jpg

Santa Ana, El Salvador

IMG_1834.jpg

San Salvador, El Salvador

IMG_1922.png

San Salvador, El Salvador

IMG_1921.png


Honduras

Probably my least favourite country in Central America, Honduras was pretty limited and the only place with the exception of San Salvador where you couldn't go out in the cities at night. It has some minor gentrification and up and coming arts scene but if you're going to travel here stick to the country towns and avoid big cities. Roatan and Utila are some islands in the Caribbean Sea that are famous for scuba diving and one of the cheapest places in the world to get all your tickets but they are individuals in their own right and I would not say they are an accurate representation of mainland Honduras.

Tegucigalpa, Honduras

IMG_1958.jpg

Tegucigalpa, Honduras

IMG_1962.jpg

Valle De Angeles, Honduras

IMG_1972.jpg


Nicaragua

Nicaragua is a unexpectedly cool country with great surfing and a wealth of places to visit. You can go volcano boarding here which is pretty awesome but make sure you wear something to cover your face because you'll be picking volcanic ash out of your eyes for about a week after it if you don't. The locals love to tell you about their victory over the US and have a dedicated musuem in Leon which is mostly some cool artwork and some hardcore veterans showing you all their knife and bullet wounds.

Leon, Nicaragua

IMG_2027.jpg

Leon, Nicaragua

IMG_2029.jpg

Grenada, Nicaragua

IMG_2078.jpg

Isla Ometepe, Nicaragua

IMG_2121.jpg

Isla Ometepe, Nicaragua

IMG_2138.jpg

San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua

IMG_2232.jpg


Costa Rica

I could happily live in Costa Rica. The people were friendly and the pro environmental green living attitude everyone seems to have is really awesome. Great surf spots but also has the luxuries of more developed countries. In the centre is there are some great nature reserves and the country boasts some of the highest bio diversity in the world! If you like wildlife, beaches and clean living this is certainly a place you'll want to spend some time.

Tamarindo, Costa Rica

IMG_2265.jpg

Monteverde, Costa Rica

IMG_2278.jpg

Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica

IMG_2391.jpg

Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica

IMG_2380.jpg


Panama

My final stop in Central America was Panama which for me, was massively overlooked by other travellers I spoke to. It had the best hostel I've ever stayed in (lost & found cloud forest hostel, Chiriqui) as well as the incredible Casco Viejo in Panama City. There are insanely beautiful beaches as well as some awesome islands to visit, most notably Bocas Del Torro and the San Blas (which you can sail to Colombia through). Theres a fiery attitude quite unique to Panamanians but I made friends there I am still in contact with today. All in all and absolute must for the region!

Casco Viejo, Panama

IMG_2643.jpg

Miraflores, Panama

IMG_2589.jpg

Chiriqui, Panama

IMG_2741.jpg

Bocas Del Torro, Panama

IMG_2433.jpg

Panama City, Panama

IMG_2579.jpg


That about sums it up for part 1! I hope it has been of some interest and feel free to hit me up with any questions or advice about specific spots, travel advice, prices or suggestions. I want to stress that this was simply an overview and I could happily write pages on each country.

All my photos were taken on an iPhone 6+

Cheers

Sort:  

I viewed all of them and all are very beautiful ! Just next dear (Y)

First of all: usually i do not read the LONG stories here.

But this was an exeption to the rule. Short things about each country and mainly photographs. Love them.

The only country i have ever been to in South-America is Cuba. Loved it, but that was enough for me.
But now i have seen and read this post... you make me want to see some more :-)

Thank you!

Congratulations @mrtz! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mrtz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57972.96
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36