Travel Diary 04: Ikskile Grass Beach Park, Latvia

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

More often than not cities have their parks. I paid a visit to Beach Park located in tourist city of Ikskile, located in Latvia. Freshly cut grass, evening sun and beautiful tree line stops instantly when water is reached. Not often you have a beach without sand.

Grass Beach Park

Park is located in Ikskile.  It was the first capital of the Roman Catholic Bishopric of Livonia. As i found on the city homepage.  Beach Park itself is located next to river of Daugava allowing variance of tourist attractions here starting from a swim and cold beer from a beach bar, ending with a ride with a speed boat or a jet ski. 

People are certainly enjoying themselves here. I was lucky enough to catch the place without a people, mainly because i visited the place late in the evening and park was empty.

A lone tree trying to get closer to the evening sun.


Don't know what the trees are called but they look absolutely amazing. I need these in my garden.


An empty dock where usually a speed boat or a yacht at might be towed. 


Looks like this park is perfect also for activities like catch and throw, Frisbee and things like that. Too bad i didn't have anybody with me at the time.  

After reading information on their homepage, i found that couple of times per summer they have large festivals right in this parks. Including yearly celebration of city birthday, beer festivals, summer festivals and some other. I should come back for those as well.


Equipment

When i travel i like to do it light. It is most likely i will have my standard camera with me in my car. Taken photographs i a daily must, but not always it is possible to predict where you are going to end up and i don't want to carry with me 3 different lenses. They might get broken or stolen. I find basic kit most universal of all.

Camera - Nikon D3200

Lens -  18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 VR  


Thank you for reading everybody, hope you enjoyed this.

Do you enjoy hanging out in Parks? Let me know.

Have a great day!

Sort:  

Amazing looking park, it was just you.

Yes it is!
I was all alone at this time. I guess locals are too used to this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22