Amsterdam to Paris via Motorcycle Part 1

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Working overtime is like a boiling water in a pressure cooker.


If you don't keep an eye on it, it can literally blow up in your face. If you find yourself thinking of work in this manner, you my friend, need a vacation! What better than to get on 2 wheels and hit the road? Several months ago, I purchased a plane ticket to Amsterdam and picked the cheapest date to fly and forgot about it, which happened to be a blessing in disguise because when you finally do remember it, it's as if someone made the choice for you and all you had to do was pack and go. It just so happened that the unplanned vacation became a much needed trip because work was dragging me down and I felt like quitting.

I flew out Friday evening and arrived in Amsterdam where I spent about 3 days sight seeing the usual spots. A few days in Amsterdam was more than enough for me and I quickly got sick of it. Oh, did I mention I was on this trip solo? Solo travel in Amsterdam can be great if you are there for a particular reason, but if you are there on vacation, then it isn't the best choice. Regardless I had several more days of vacationing left and I ended up renting a motorcycle at Motoport of Amsterdam and headed off on an impromptu ride to Paris.

1.jpg

Most trips like this should be planned out before departing,


but when you have 2 wheels, plans almost always go out the door because you are at the mercy of mother nature and time. But that's quite alright! Where's the sense of adventure if you are going to let mother nature stop you?

Immediately after I rented the bike, I realize that I don't have the proper weather specific gear for this ride because the wind was sucking all the heat out of my body. Between the short gloves, zippered areas, and a lack of tall boots, each kilometer meant more heat being sucked away from my body. I knew almost instantly that the ride was going to miserable. But I didn't care. I had 2 wheels, and I'll be damned if I just gave in. Off to Paris!

DSC01620.JPG

I broke the ride up into two parts,


one leg into Belgium (approximately 3 hours) and the next leg into Paris (approximately 4 hours). The first leg of the ride was a continuous mission to run from the clouds. They would momentarily disappear, revealing the blue sky and then, like a vacuum, the clouds would be sucked back into to the blue hole in the sky.

Despite the photos showing what could be a warm day, the reality was that the weather was see-sawing from dark, rain filled clouds, to a beautiful but windy blue sky. Even mother nature's looks can be deceiving. Regardless, I had no choice but to press on because kilometers don't ride themselves.

DSC01645.JPG

After hours of running from storm clouds,


I end up in my final destination for the day in Spa, Belgium, known for its hot springs. Unfortunately, by the time I reached the springs, it was already quite late into the day, and they were about to close. Rather than give up, I abandoned my original plan of a Spa day in Spa Belgium (how ironic!), and instead opted for a day trip to the nearby city of Liege.

DSC01667.JPG

In this city, I discovered what feels like the world's longest set of stairs.


It took a total of 4 minutes to walk up the stairs non stop. Definitely a great way to get into shape if you ran up the stairs everyday! The view at the top wasn't the best and immediately after I reached the top, I realized that I left my GPS mounted on my motorcycle! Unable to enjoy the view, I rush back down and miraculously, the GPS was still on my bike! Consider Liege a relatively safe city, that or I'm just one lucky SOB.

DSC01686.JPG

Solo travel can really bring out some great moments


Walking up those stairs really reminded me that solo travel can really bring out some great moments. You can go where you please and to tune of your own beat. You can pull over whenever you want and enjoy what's important to you.

Once I got back to the bike, I quickly realize that the cloud that I was running from was starting to catch back up. I really had no choice but to get back on the bike and haul ass back to my hotel. On the way back I grabbed some beer and pizza and rummaged around town. Not a single soul in sight! So I took some pics and retired for the day. That's all folks! Follow me on part 2 of my trip!

DSC01744.JPG
A selfie in front of my hotel

DSC01770.JPG
A selfie in front of an old public Spa

DSC01777.JPG
The view from my hotel window

Sort:  

Thoroughly enjoyed your journey! There is nothing quite like travelling the world on a motorcycle. In my first year of riding, I took 3 touring trips on my CBR and had the time of my life. It takes balls to hit the open road with your limited storage and the danger and sheer exhilaration that awaits you. Have fun and stay safe, brother!

Ohh beautiful photos! I would like to go there someday. Greetings my friend @motoengineer

thanks, next time ill be sure to take more photos!

Working overtime is like a boiling water in a pressure cooker....Nice say dear..Its true

Sometimes, you really need a good off road trip to unwind from the hustles and bustles of the city. Do something you love and you'll never work a day in your life :)

thats absolutely true. how many people actually get to do what they love though? Sounds almost far fetched.

Fear of insecurity, fear of letting go, fear of how the world will look at them. Fuck it all just live your life to the fullest hahah

Insecurity is a big uphill battle. We as humans like to have as much control as possible, and even if our current situation is a shitty one, we have control over it since its repetitive and easy to predict. You step out of the norm and try to live an uncomfortable life and it takes a while to adjust to letting go.

That's the tough part. Letting go!

Motorcycle trips are awesome! I'm taking on at the end of July, but instead of boring places like Paris, I'm going to Possum Trot, Tennessee. lol. Great pics, and I can only imagine riding through those areas. Shiny side up!

@motoengineer I think this is bold, I wish I had the guts to try road trips between countries when I am abroad. Have a wonderful time! Looking forward to part 2 in Paris.

Haha! Unplanned rides are always the best. I am a biker as well.
Followed and upvoted you buddy! ;)

Nice vid and story! Thanks for sharing! =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64