[Olá Algarve] Sun, Sand & Sea in Albufeira

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Sun, Sand & Sea in Albufeira 



I had the pleasure of visiting Portugal in the summer to soak up some sun rays and taste some Portuguese cuisine. We hit up Algarve, located in the south to relax and party a little. ;) Predominantly, Algarve is a very touristic destination and has had many developments to accommodate the influx of travellers. We visited Albufeira for a mix of the old and the new. Ironically, the city is divided into its New and Old Town areas. This post is a brief walkthrough of my experiences in the new town. 


Touchdown 

We booked a flight out to Faro airport. The flight lasted for only a couple of hours but we arrived late into the night. The transfer took us to our accommodation, this was an experience in itself as the drivers were a little more ‘adventurous’ with their automobiles. Nonetheless, we checked in safely and got some rest for the day ahead. 



Our first day here and the sun was blazing, no complaints! We stayed in a moderate accommodation situated near the beach, nothing special. 

Heading out for breakfast, I had the chance to talk to some local people who gave advice about travelling around the city. Everyone I met during my stay were very friendly, the Portuguese are lovely, warm people which really added to the atmosphere out there.    

   

Party in New Town


I saw New Town as more of a party district, with a strip holding bars and other nightlife entertainment. We went out a few times and there was a nice vibe around the strip, I felt safe here and police were on duty into the late hours of the night with a military like presence.



There was a wide range of food to try out in Portugal but that particular day I settled for a monster burger to settle my appetite. Maybe I should travel to the States at some point to get a real super-sized meal!! I highly recommend trying a Rodizio of some sort when you're there : )

Worms Roundabout, if I was ever lost I would recognise this roundabout in an instant lol... There were a few supermarkets located here so we made a stop before hitting the beach. 

We finally arrived at the beach. It wasn’t as crowded as I had first expected. Plenty of deck chairs to enjoy the sun and take in the view. I’m not one to sunbathe much so we decided to walk around and explore the shore a little. 

Exploring a little always pays off, separating from the crowd – an empty spot to enjoy the ocean. 

Quieter beaches have always been my preference, I didn’t expect to find much of it here but I was pleasantly surprised. A little beach rock climbing is always welcome. 

Spending quite some time here, it was a nice place to relax. The temperature began to drop a little and the sea transformed from its tranquil currents into smaller waves.


I'm on a Boat!

Saying goodbye to land, we left for a boat party. Boat's are not for everyone so my advice is if you've never been on one before, don't eat too much if it's a smaller one. I remember my first time out fishing...But that's another story : ) 


The boat party gave us reason to stay out a little later and see the cove and await the sunset. Party guests were enjoying the vibe, awaiting the sunset.



As the sun set, temperatures dropped and it was time to return to land. I found New Town to be lively and a little different to other destinations I have been to. If you like bars and nightlife you will have lots of fun for sure.  For some however, Old Town would be a better choice. I enjoyed my time there a little more in comparison, each to their own.


Here’s a snap of Old Town, Shisha on the beach and lots of restaurants : )



I’ll do a post on Old Town Very soon with a little more detail, but for now… 


- Obrigado and tchau ~



Sort:  

Great views and delicious food are always the best.

Great story :)

great pictures , beautiful place. resteem

Good job!.. My upvote for good work.
Check my recent post and please upvote/comments or resteem.
https://steemit.com/travel/@feel.good/incredible-gokyo-everest-trek-himalaya

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65688.41
ETH 3444.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64