Marrakech – The Enchanting Majorelle Garden

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

 Marrakech – The Enchanting Majorelle Garden



I took a quick trip out to Morocco and got to immerse myself in the chaos around the old town. I managed to break away from the busy streets of the Medina and escaped to Le Jardin Majorelle (Majorelle Garden).   

Artist's Garden

The Botanical Garden is located on Yves St Laurent Street and was constructed in 1923 by Jacques Majorelle. Majorelle was a French painter, receiving recognition for his work as an Orientalist painter. The garden is the most famous achievement that Majorelle is remembered for. His background in art education on an international scale is showcased within the garden. If you ever hired an architect or landscape planner to do some work, it might not be a bad idea to include an artist.   

Getting a taxi here is the easiest option. Don’t be afraid to ask a fair price, if the driver wants to overcharge simply walk away. The sun was shining and a line formed from the entrance. Arriving early is always nice but the heat was turning up, being stationary was the last thing I wanted to be doing…  

 

I was handed a set of brochures, you have the option of English and French texts. Within the Garden, a Berber museum is neatly tucked away with some truly exquisite artefacts, history and star lit mirror room that makes you feel as if you’re wondering the galaxy. Unfortunately I couldn’t capture these moments as strict orders were given against photography inside the museum : (

The botanical journey starts here, with a subtle fountain that trickles away onto green and blue mosaics.  



Pricing for locals and tourists vary in most places, you might be able to get a little discount if you’re a student – Don’t be afraid to ask ; )  



Stepping out into the garden reveals an almost amazon like composition. The colours blend with each other as an amalgam of greens, blues and yellows are accented with the water feature.  



The garden allows free exploration of its feature areas; each pathway has its own character and personality. I peer down the wild bamboo forest that leans over a serene water path.  



The bamboo continues to tower over, providing much needed shade from the sun. Rest benches are dotted around and visitors stroll around, soaking in the colours. The crimson red radiates warmth in the shade as you continue through the garden.  



I arrive at the cactus garden. Cactus everywhere in every shape and size. The substrate transforms a warped reality as you find a dessert hidden in an oasis.  





My gaze wonders as I walk, I spot more cacti. One particular spherical specimen catches my eye. I can’t help but think this ball of spines has given birth to then sun. I make my way towards the front of the Villa, a vibrant blue pierces the dessert scenery. It’s almost as if the little blue sanctuary is watering its neighbours, a refreshing source of energy. I later learn this is referred to as Majorelle Blue. A patented colour by the artist, drawing inspiration from Berber culture and local Marrakech.  



 

The Villa is surrounded by its collection of cactus. I can’t help but stare up the yellow curtains.  





I make my way to the next section and take refuge in the shadows for a moment. The mosaic pathway leads to more aquatic features. I notice the koi swimming gracefully, sheltered from the blazing sun by the bamboo.  



A gazebo that has long since merged with growing vegetation, a seamless structure. I conclude my visit in Majorelle with a visit to the museum. I indulged in the lessons about the Berber people and the modern lessons about the garden.  

Yves Saint-Laurent and Pierre Berge were responsible for the revival of this beautiful Garden. They preserved its heritage during the 80’s and brought life to a masterpiece.  

The ashes of late Yves Saint-Laurent are scattered in Majorelle and a museum funded from the garden’s profits has been opened as tribute to YSL.

I head for the exit and feel a sense of peace. I walk on and notice someone else who has found their moment of calm and tranquil :3
 


 

I really enjoyed my time in Marrakech and will share some more about this wonderful city soon : )
 

Thanks for reading.
 

Momosan  

Source

Sort:  

Cats walk on their toes.

I think this kitty was tired of walking.

A cat's whiskers are thought to be a kind of radar, which helps a cat gauge the space it intends to walk through.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83