Today we visit the beautiful town of York for MarketFriday

in #travel7 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Hi @molometer! Oh, my! This is such an amazing trip that you took us on! I didn't know what to expect, but, you covered the territory so magnificently! Thank you!

Don't you just love the tax laws at different places? Leave it to someone to start a new trend to beat out the tax collector. Very smart indeed. :)

The architecture is in style with what I love to spend time perusing and studying. I love the intimate feel of the entire section of town. I know it is a hazard in so many ways, but, it scores cool point s from me on the looks. I would love to live in one of these.

I promise not to throw anything out the windows! Honest!

Interesting name as you say... I wonder if the word originated there or if it picked up that nickname because of the shambles they thought it was in. I sort of like that mix and match disorganized look. I call it eclectic. :)

The cathedral is the high point of the entire Shambles. What a truly Gothic piece of beautuiful.

Thank you so much for taking the time and energy to share this with us here on #MarketFriday. It was so much appreciated and thanks for the tour. You make a great guide! Have a fabulous weekend! Upped and steemed

As an aside, could you add a hashtag to the #MarketFriday in your post? It makes it easier to find. Thank you, my friend!

Hi @dswigle what a great idea this #MarketFriday challenge is. Thanks for the heads up on the hashtag. I thought it was okay just to put it in the tag section? What do I know lol.
York is a fabulous place and I would live there tomorrow. It is just so super cute and the place oozes character.
The Shambles word is from Old English-Middle English and means 'the butchers place where they have meat on stalls and benches'.
I'm pretty sure the word was adopted later into modern English to mean just a mess or messy place.
Whatever it is. It is a glorious shambles lol tip!

It is one of the nices messes I have not had to clean up!!! :) Thank you again! It was an awesome trip!

What a fabulous read, loved your photos of the shambles market. Those houses sure do look wacky. Look forward to some more medieval market meanderings. 🤗

York is a beautiful city. I took loads of photos so I'll do some more blogs on it. @nataliemk tip!

what Lovely place to visit especially shambles Market. Excellent & informative post @molometer !

Thank you @irfanullah for your warm comment. The Shambles market is a little jewel in this beautiful city. I see you are in Dubai. What a contrast it must be to see these ancient buildings from a brand new city's perspective?

Super beautiful...love #matketfriday

Thanks @mcsamm it is super beautiful I agree tip!

Oh yes...really nice

I would love to visit York! It looks fascinating. Great tour! Tip!

Glad you enjoyed it @melinda010100 it is a splendid example of an old English town. We had a great time wandering around York. Many thanks for the tip! too :)

Love this kind of streets ! Is this a fisheye lens that you used or are the walls all distorted ? Lol

It's a bit of both lol fish eye lens and bendy buildings. It's a magical city. @barbara-orenya tip!

why you would love Annecy for sure ^_^

I look forward to visiting Annecy. My list is growing lol

This is one excellent tour. Thanks for all the info with the beautiful photography. I was thinking shambles like you said. I used to write for Hubpages many moons ago even pulled most everything off of there for some reason.. I think I still have a few articles. I will definitely look you up sometimes.

I thought I recognised your name. I've still got some articles on hubpages that I maintain occasionally as they still earn money but it got really silly there with all the editorial interference.
Such a pain and who needs it? tip!

Start spreading the news. I'm leaving today. I want to be a part of it, Old York, Old York.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54