You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Climbing Indonesia's Highest Volcano, and My Thoughts on Why People Want to Trek and Climb Mountains [900 words + photos]

in #travel7 years ago

This is an amazing story! I used to climb regularly and people would always ask why...the journey is so amazing, and accomplishing what you set out for just feels so great! Thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

Thanks! Yeah I think you just either get it or you don't. I've always been afraid of heights so I've only trekked up mountains, but I've been doing some top rope climbing outdoors and I'm getting over it. Soon I hope to conquer a mountain that requires some proper climbing. Thanks for reading.

As soon as you do it you wont turn back. I can't climb anymore cause of injuries, so trekking is all I'm left to do now. It's still amazing making it to the top and looking down at what you just conquered!

It's the best. Unfortunately for us the smoke below obscured most of the view so we could only look back down 1000 meters or so. Even without the view it's somehow worth it, although a view is a big bonus. Last year I trekked the highest volcano on Java (Mt. Semeru) and we were completely socked in by fog during the entire summit attack. It was just above freezing, cold, raining and totally miserable. And so, so worth it. Strange how it works.

Yeah, somehow those miserable times seem to end up being more memorable and cherished than the times where everything comes together perfectly.

I will definitely check it out later today! BTW don't know if you noticed, but I had selected this post as my selection for the OCD project, it was listed in a compilation post yesterday, OCD Test Compilation. We are a group of curators looking to get more attention for underappreciated posts by new members, keep a look out for posts coming from the OCD account.

Ah cheers! Thanks for that. That's a great project, love the idea.

I'll be keeping an eye out for your posts just in case one goes unappreciated. Really like your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53778.84
ETH 2224.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30