A Hidden Gem Of A Hotel In Cancun Mexico

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

h111.jpg

Good morning fellow Steemians! I have to say I awoke a bit melancholy today... it just happens that way sometimes and I decided to go into downtown Cancun and shake off the negative vibes I was feeling.

There is a street which might be considered to some locals as the edge of what is considered downtown Cancun and it is called Yaxchilan. Yaxchilan was a Mayan city on the edge of the Rio (river) Usumacinta in what is now the state of Chiapas, Mexico.
It is lined with several shops anything from tattoos, tours, local restaurants and few small hotels line this street for several blocks. On this street is a hidden gem of a hotel called Hotel Xbalamque.

Alot of the Mayan culture was purged when Spain conquered the new world. Fortunately one of the oldest Mayan myths survived and is a tale for another day... Xbalamque is one of the two twin hero brothers in Mayan folklore who battled death.

h1a.jpg

As I write this post I'm about to have a nice little brunch next door to this hotel which is called Chilaquileria Chill & Quill Cocina Mexicana Urbana (Chilaquiles is a traditional dish with many variations. Chill & Quill is pronounced chill and kill. Urban mexican kitchen.) I ordered chilaquiles with chicken in a green salsa sauce with beans and a green juice (celery,cactus, cilantro, orange, grapefruit and pineapple juice).

quill.jpg

Portions are massive. 5*'s total price 7.00USD

HOTEL XBALAMQUE

I remember this hotel because before I left in 2016 they were just finishing painting murals outside on the walls of their buildings and I thought that the artistry was amazing. I am about to load tons of photos so I hope you enjoy.

h1.jpg

h2.jpg

h3.jpgh4.jpgh5.jpg

h6.jpgh7.jpg

h8.jpg

h9.jpg

h10.jpg

h11.jpg

h12.jpg

h13.jpg

h14.jpgh15.jpg

Main Entrance Of The Hotel

h16.jpg

h17.jpg

h18.jpg

h19.jpg

After you enter the lobby of the hotel it seems as if there is no where to go but just past the stairwell on the right there is a tiny hallway that leads to more murals!

h20.jpg

h21.jpg

h22.jpg

h23.jpg

h24.jpgh25.jpgh26.jpg

h27.jpgh28.jpgh29.jpg

h30.jpgh31.jpgh32.jpg

h33.jpgh34.jpgh35.jpg

h36.jpg

h37.jpg

Now I took a video as well but unfortunately as with all the pics I took, this was done on my crappy LG phone. You might have to blast your speakers to hear it. The audio doesn't really matter as I was saying for the majority of it that it was simply amazing. I commented that they included pieces of art that were attached to the walls. There was a constent sound of birds chirping as well. I found the source which will see at the end of the vid.

I am not affiliated with this hotel in anyway. All I can tell you is that it is one of the older hotels in downtown Cancun and I did take a pic of their rates.

h38.jpg

All the rates include taxes. Looks like the double & single room are the same price $900.00 MXN (mexican pesos) $250.00 for extra persons & 1,100.00 for a suite. At the current exchange rate the suite is $59.07USD a night. It has a pool, restaurant, theater, shops and a hell of a lot more murals up and down their stairwells. I did not see an elevator as it is an older hotel, I'm not sure if one was installed. It is what I would consider (in size) a boutique hotel. It's within walking distance of the buses that will take you into the hotel zone where you can find access to the beach or the taxi will take you from the lobby for about $300.00 MXN ($16.00 USD) one way. It's also within walking distance from the ADO bus station.

Most tourists would not even find this type of hotel because they book with a travel agent or online. They also want their hotel right on the beach (can't fault them for that). Cancun has some of the most gorgeous beaches in the world. Hotel Xbalamque is not on the beach but it sure as hell makes up for it in history, art and economical rates.

Hope you enjoyed this post and stay tuned for more of my adventures in Cancun. I also am feeling happier :-)
(As previously mentioned all pics and vids taken on my crappy LG phone)

follow mithrilweed.png

Sort:  

Upvoted and resteemed!!!

Seems worthy too.

Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed the post and appreciate the vote and resteem!

Love it @mithrilweed 👌🏼

thanks!.... Following....

Right back at you 👌🏼

The artworks of the hotel is great. Did you happen to ask the meaning of those wall arts?

I know that these murals were comissioned by an individual artist. I may be able to find out though. My best guest with the interior murals they show imagery of places like Tikal, Palenque, Chichen-Itza, Tulum. I know that some had description below the murals on the interior but the angle of the hallway would not allow me to take a picture of the descriptions.

The outside murals might be representations of when Xbalamque & his twin brother went to the Underworld and fought in the ball game (not 100% sure on this though).

Simply amazing

That's what I kept saying in the video..lol. Following

My daughter also travels all over and you girls remind me of her :) We planned a 10 day trip to Las Vegas a year ago. At the time I thought ok that's a long time in Vegas but I was excited. We got to the airport, and my daughter threw a lei around my neck and said "WE ARE GOING TO MAUI MOM". And that's where we landed. I could not breathe for an hour and did cry a little. Love that girl and with her, I did things that I wouldn't have done otherwise. We did the WHOLE island, i'll just have to leave it at that :) Have fun!!!!! Oh yeah, it was -30F when we left Calgary airport for Maui :(

Well first of all thank you very much for the kind words. Second of all I'm a man and that first picture is of my friends and ex coworkers... being on a yacht is a common practice here in Cancun. Third I have been to Calgary and to the Stampede so thankfully I've never experienced -30F except growing up in Chicago during winter... which is probably why I live in Cancun, Mexico :-) (Sounds like you raised your daughter proper)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99