Hong Kong airport

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I've been to a lot of different airports in my life. I was a flight attendant for about a year and definitely got hooked as a travel bug. As a flight attendant I spent a lot of times in different airports. Hong Kong is one of the most high tech airports out there. They have a touch screen directory of where you type in any shop you're looking for and it will show you where it is in relation to where you are. There's hundreds of restaurant options and they even have a movie theater here I'm spending 13 hours here just due to the way my flights works and I actually thought about seeing a movie but I found a place to sleep instead.

This was me on my flight from Bangkok to Hong Kong, needless to say I was exhausted then.

IMG_0092.JPG

I did find a nice quite place to sleep in the airport, although the cold marble floor made it hard to sleep for more than an hour and a half.

IMG_0096.JPG

Besides from being exhausted I did wander around and notice how insane this airport is. Here is a picture of the IMAX movie theater they have. I guess Star Wars is big out here in Asia.

IMG_0084.JPG

Hong Kong is the "unoffical" capital of Asia.

IMG_0086.JPG

The airport originally opened up in 1998 and at the time was one of the largest passenger airports in the world. Since then it has fell to number 8, Atlanta Georgia is the busiest in the world.

However, in 2010 it surpassed Memphis, TN to become the largest airport by cargo travel, which it still currently holds. The only other airport that's in both the top ten of passengers and cargo is Dubai.

IMG_0089.JPG

Just some random beauty in the middle of the airport.

IMG_0088.JPG

IMG_0081.JPG

These 7/11's are literally all over the place in Asia, if you can't find one there might be something wrong with you.

IMG_0090.JPG

This actually wasn't one of the touch screen directories, nut it just goes to show how massive this place is.

IMG_0082.JPG

Anyway, this airport is a city in itself and I'm glad that out of all the airports I have to spend half my day in it is this one.

I found the interactive directory. It literally shows you exactly where you are, you say where you want to go and it gives you directions on how to get there.

IMG_0097.JPG

Sort:  

you look so shot-the-fuck-out its awesome.

The life of a traveler. Sleeping on airport floors. At least it’s a fancy airport!

Its than sleeping outside lol.

Cool tho..

Its a wonderful airport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76