Sorrow for south - my beautiful travel

in #travel7 years ago

Hi, everyone, today I decided to write about my travel in Macedonia. This is a land on the south of Balcan, the north neighbour of Greek and a land really worth of attention because of its nature, folklore and language what I will write in this post about.

IMG_20170625_175122_724.jpg

Last month I was at school exange in Ohrid. I was traveling by bus 15 h and during travel across north and west side of Macedonia, I visit many places there, including the captal city Skopje. But Ohrid impressed me more.

The thing that fascinsted me the most is beautiful green nature, specialy in Ohrid, where Ohrid Lake is combinated with big mountains all around.There is a beach on the Lake, I was swimming there, it`s the same like sea, only without salt. :)

IMG_20170618_142018.jpg

IMG_20170625_110647.jpg

Ohrid reminds me on a little town at croatian coast. The steets are thin and full of shops from all sides. There are a lot of littles churches. Otherwise, the legend says Ohrid has 365 churches, each for every day. The most beautiful church for me is The Church of St. Jovan (John). But there are a lot of mosques because in history Macedonia was a part of turkish country what is not a bright side of their historical life, so never mention a word history in Macedonia. :P

IMG_20170617_203414.jpg

The prices are so so low, for example a cup of coffee costs cca 8 cents. And for a trip to Struga or other town near Ohrid you pay cca 4 cents. For me, who like to spend a money, it was a heaven!
An another intresting thing in Ohrid is its architecture. Houses are all the same, the higher floor is huger than the first one. This is because of protection of earthquake. It seems like this.

IMG_20170617_202118.jpg

IMG_20170617_201810.jpg

At school, despite language,I was learning about macedonian traditional dance. We was even practicing to dance. The teacher was great and pasionate with us all so we learnt to dance like the professionals :P Every kind of dance (macedonian opo (read oro) ) is called depending on the area it origins. The most popular opo is called македонско девојче (Macedonian girl).

IMG_20170617_200727.jpg

And the last intresting thing is, of course, language. Macedonian is in the same group of slavic languages which my language, croatian, is in –south slavic languages –so vocabulary is similar to my languages. However grammar is completely different so macedonian sounds sweetly to me. And they use cyrillic.
I have been there two weeks. I met nice people and I noticed macedonian people are mostly positive, always in good mood. The atmosphere there is so comfortable.

Oh, no, I forgot, real the most intresting thing is wine. :P Macedonia is known like good producer of wine. The most popular is тга за југ (sorrow for south). This name is a poem of macedonian famous poet Konstantin Miladinov. It is red wine, and they produce pink wine, too. It was suprise for me, I didnt believe, but it really exist! And tastes so goood :)

IMG_20170628_194234.jpg

Macedonia is really nice country, full of life, and definitly worth of visit. I suggest you Macedonia to be your next destination.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

amazing post dear .........!!
keepit up.

Congratulations @misswatermelon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67698.91
ETH 3266.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64