Dear lady with the crying baby, you’re always welcome to sit next to me <3

in #travel6 years ago

An already stressed mother, doing an already overwhelming job of being a mother, embarks on a journey with a small child and immediately the plane divides into two opposing teams: Mama and Baby vs Pretty Much Everyone Else...

She has to suffer through the unashamed expressions of dread in everyone’s eyes, aimed at them like little arrows with every row passed, trying to deter them from sitting too close… What a heartbreaking lack of empathy.

I figure the only person who has the right to roll eyes when a woman with a crying baby enters an airplane, bus, train is:

  • A person who has never cried as a child.

Period!

I’m not a mom, but when I was traveling with a child once, a lady helped me push one of my luggage carts saying, “Honey, I’ve got 2 kids and sometimes 2 arms just ain’t enough.”

It’s moments like these that I never forget <3

Lend me your pinky and let's make a promise to be more thoughtful towards parents traveling with babies.

crying baby on flight.jpg

The above was inspired by a recent trip I took and was produced while I definitely had more important things to do.

See, procrastination is not always a bad thing--I learnt to probably not try to be a full time poet :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43