Lazy Days in Cambodia - Transportation Tips

in #travel7 years ago

While I'm lounging around in a hammock and have a bit of free time, I thought I would post a few of my favorite modes of transportation around South East Asia.

While my most used and cheapest way to get around is walking (most places I've had the pleasure of visiting consist of a few streets), it does come with some problems besides exhaustion. I tend to get followed by various street dogs (I think they can smell my fear) and the occasional monkey (watch out for them! They're not very cute when they bite. I have a nice little scar after visiting a monkey park in Bali :P ). The streets are littered with trash and plenty of unidentifiable puddles that are just awful to step in. Soooooo, with that said, I'll list some other options:

20161104_172257edit.jpg

MOTORBIKE TAXI - This option is very straight forward and mostly applies to Bangkok. What sets these guys apart from all the other motorcyclists is their bright yellow/orange vests. You just tell them where you need to go, hop on the back, and have trouble deciding where to put your hands. I always opt for putting them on the handle behind my back. I've never ridden a motorbike in the states, so that, paired with the utter nonexistence of road laws in some locations, leads to a thrill everytime for me. I highly recommend.

TUK TUK - This one is specific to Southeast Asia I believe, but correct me if I'm wrong. I love them because they're so easy, but I see a lot of complaints about them online especially about Bangkok. They're basically a cart attached to a motorbike, so they are completely unenclosed unlike a taxi. You can probably jump at anytime if you feel the need to do so. They're pretty slow moving. They'll drive you wherever you need to go for just a few dollars. I've never had anything questionable happen while riding one. Just watch for them trying to get an extra buck or two halfway through the ride. If that happens, just stand your ground or get out.

CAMBODIA POST VIP VAN - Have you ever imagined riding a mail van 6 hours from the middle of nowhere to the city? I definitely hadn't, so I was surprised to see this was even an option. While I can't recommend the post office itself (I'm still waiting for a package after 4 months), I have only encountered great customer service and punctuality with the van it operates. As opposed to other options, like buses, this is the same price, but a million times more comfortable. I've heard plenty of unfortunate bus stories from friends, including bed bugs, strange unannounced stops, and midnight bus changes. They provide water, reliable wifi, online booking, a/c, and comfortable seating. There are only a few seats that they never overbook, so overcrowding is not an issue. I will continue to use this service for all of my trips around Cambodia over any other method.

I was going to add hitchhiking to this list, but I didn't want to encourage anything potentially unsafe. I'll just say that the sweet people of Asia have never left me stranded ;)

If anyone has any questions/concerns/suggestions for future blogs, please feel free to drop them below. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67