Hello Steemit!

in #travel7 years ago

Hello! My name is Mira, and I am currently living abroad in Southeast Asia independently as a 17 year old, queer girl. Through a mutual family decision, my single mother, myself, and my two younger siblings gave away everything and left the US in a span of two months, but, through a number of both unfortunate and fortunate happenings, only I remain abroad. As a family living on a budget of $3000 to $1000 to $0 a month, it became increasingly difficult to remain standing and pushed us to learn travelling shortcuts quickly. Throughout my travels, I've met fascinating people, encountered animals to close for comfort, taken new forms of transportation, experienced new careers, eaten new foods, visited sacred sites, and had more fun than I've ever had during my time in the US.
Although my bag has shrunk to nearly nothing, I've picked up things along the way. My cat is from Thailand, my significant other from Cambodia, and my first travelling experiences (mostly total flops, honestly) from Indonesia.
I am writing because I have a unique perspective on travelling (as a teenager with a low socioeconomic background) that is normally limited to rich, older adults (men mostly). Also, I experience sights and activities that are outside the tourist norms. Most shown to me by the locals or discovered through some extra exploration. Thank you for taking the time to read my amateur blog and please enjoy both my great and completely miserable experiences. Any potential earnings I may get will go towards housing, food, visas, and other basic necessities. Thank you!

Sort:  

Good luck! And welcome! :)

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it!

I hope you'll explain us how you can travel like rich people without a lot of money! :D

Definitely! There are so many travel shortcuts you can take. My favorite is the mail truck in Cambodia because it's cheap, fast, and comfortable. Once I get some time, I'll post my first real blog. Can't wait! :)

Hello @mirabun!! I wish you all the best!

Thank you so much for the support!

Hello welcome :))

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57428.63
ETH 2425.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34