A Perfect Day In The Life Of @mindhunter In Geneva, Switzerland

in #travel7 years ago

This morning after sipping espresso...

This morning after sipping espresso at one of the best cafes in Geneva, I headed out to Lake Geneva to see where they are building Roger Federer's new $6 million dollar home on the banks of Lake Geneva, as well as to get an overall feel for this Swiss canton - it was one of my grandmothers favourites. Roger Federer's new home is spectacular and seems to be made entirely of glass. I'm sure he'll be very happy here in one of the lowest tax Swiss cantons in La Suisse.


Source

This afternoon, I decided to buy a small gold bar ...

This afternoon, I decided to buy a small gold bar as it just wouldn't be Switzerland if I didn't buy some kind of Swiss asset, so I better find a hiding place pronto for it as I can't afford a safety deposit box here.


Source

I also found some lovely Romansch people who helped me find my way back to my car after I got lost looking for it. Driving on the right here still confuses me being from the UK. The Romansch language confuses me too. Such a strange language and the 4th official language of Switzerland, it's spoken only in the South East of the country by around 35,000 people. It's based off of Latin, so it sounds like an Enya song or speaking to a Roman soldier.

The cost is living here is very high, so filling up my car with gas for the long 1000 miles drive home from Geneva to Dumfries, Scotland will be an expensive exercise. The Swiss Franc is the currency in use here, and it's a strange currency being called CHF at all the exchanges.

I'm a big fan of Geneva over Zurich, as I prefer the French culture and speak French more fluently than I do German. I do prefer to hear French spoken in the cafes over German as I sip my morning espresso.

Tonight I need to research for my visit to Zermatt ...

Tonight I need to research for my visit to Zermatt tomorrow which has some of the cleanest of air in all the Alps, but the increased altitude will make a big difference to how dizzy my head feels.


Source

Many famous exiles live there including half of ABBA. They have a very strong anti-car rule in Zermatt to keep pollution down, so I'll need to ditch the car as I approach the town.

This evening it's a walk around the centre of Geneva for a last check of my bank account - it’ll nearly be empty after filling up with gas for the long journey home.

All in all I'm really happy with my visit to Switzerland. Everything just seems to work logically here. I could happily live out all the days of my life here, as I never tire of the view of the Alps.

Au revoir for now.

@mindhunter

Sort:  

P.S. Message for @liliana.duarte - Thanks for the chat last night - it really helped settle the old travel nerves.

Love all the photos, Switzerland seems like it would be my kind of speed.

German logic and French joie de vivre mix very well together here :)

Nice city with beautiful scenery!

I do have a big soft spot for Geneva alright!

That's really great! :)

Just posted a pic from my Alps trip on my timeline ;)

A quality article @mindhunter I really enjoyed it. Merci Monsieur!

A 15 minute travel writing muse seems to be my sweet spot! Merci aussi!

Mr Federer also said "Salut!"

Beautiful pictures dear friend @mindhunter, congratulations on the choice of the trip, a beautiful place

It's hard to fail in La Suisse! No trip can go wrong here. Beauty is in every corner!

Switzerland is beautiful from all aspects and parts. Been coming here a couple times a year for about 10, one of my favorites. Here now as a matter of fact! How did you get the gold home? I carry portion all gold coins each trip ... cuz you never know.

I have a secret hide/safe in my car - I drove over to La Suisse from the UK. Zermatt is my favourite place in all of Switzerland. Amazing alpine air!

Yeah Zermatt is cool, got almost to the top of the jugfranatch when a blizzard hit and we had to turn back. A secret safe... nice, but amazing what you need to do these days!

I'm a big fan of gold, but not of Zermatt's fickle weather when out hiking. Stay safe now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90