Day Trip To Mount Rushmore

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys! So while I'm here in Custer, South Dakota for aviation training, I decided to use my day off to do a little sight-seeing! My first two days of training were such a blast. For those of you who don't know, I am a wildlands firefighter. I am 20 years old and this is my third year on the job. This year I accrued a position in Glenrock, Wyoming on The Wyoming State Helitack Crew!! I am so ridiculously excited to get flying and firefighting this season! It should be a late fire season with intensity picking up around late July to early August. Anyway, here's a pic of the helicopter I'll be flying in this year :)


It's a Bell 206L (Long Ranger) L-4. Very high performance Type 3 helicopter which is fully capable of fire suppression and aerial ignition operations.

Tomorrow training picks up again, but today I was able to relax, do some sight-seeing here in Custer, work on some video editing, and best of all, I visited the heads of four dead presidents!!

......That came out wrong.

Maybe this will make more sense

IMG_6469.JPG

That's right, I visited the great Mount Rushmore!

Well, to be honest, I expected it to be bigger for some reason.

I got some pretty choice pics tho, so lemme quick talkin so y'all can enjoy these slides boiiiii

IMG_6465.JPG

IMG_6481.JPG

IMG_6486.JPG

IMG_6507.JPG

IMG_6509.JPG

IMG_6467.JPG

This part of the country is totally gorgeous and completely stunning!! Especially to an outdoorsman like me. These black hills are full of elk, mule deer, bear, and wild turkey. If I were spending more time here, you better believe I'd be picking up a few tags and spending my weekends out in the hills. Unfortunately, training ends on Saturday, in which time I head back to the Helibase in Glenrock, Wyoming.

But fear not, my followers! There's plenty to do in Wyoming! I got stacks on stacks on stacks...

...of video ideas for the months to come!

You can expect to see the FX Impact come out again to take out some more prairie dogs, as well as a few walleye fishing trips out on the boat :)
And best of all, you're gonna get to see what I see from several hundred feet up in the helicopter :D

Come along with me as fire season kicks off and the weekends entertain with exhilerating outdoor trips.

-Mike Knipp

Sort:  

You've got a pretty sweet job man. Learning how to fly has to be one of the coolest things a human can accomplish.

Very beautiful monument.

@mikeknipp thanks for sharing. I really enjoyed seeing the figures in the rock close up. I have seen so many images that are wide, capturing the whole scene, but rarely close up. It's great to see the detail, so thank you!

Lucky! Now that you mention it, I can see the trees at the base of Mt Rushmore which helps put the size into perspective. I thought it was bigger too!

Maybe it was that Richie Rich movie from 1994 where the size of a similar mountain was exaggerated.

Haha I love Richie Rich! Nice throwback!

I was in Rapid City, South Dakota in 2007..We took helicopter tour with buddies for sight-seeing..It was gorgeous.. Lucky you!

Wow! It looks great!! I really wanna visit this place!
Have a great day :)

best thing is, it's free to visit and view! Have a great day as well! :)

wow, nice stone curvings , mount Rushmore is Historic

you got some nice shots of Mount Rushmore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41