Peurto Vallarta Seafood Walk 101

in #travel6 years ago

552AD836-4E83-4E2C-8F4D-CF587ECD952F.jpegIf you have ever gotten a chance to explore Puerto Vallarta, it’s easy to understand why so many expats love it. The city feels alive and the food is delicioso😋🍛

While planning for my trip to PV and connecting with the local expats in the Facebook group called Everything You Want To Know About Puerto Vallarta, I stumbled across an evite event called Seafood 101. I love seafood and was practically raised on it growing up in Charleston. I remembered PV having really fresh seafood when I visited in the past.

I signed up for the walk immediately because I wanted to sample the authentic local seafood dishes. Memo, (pronounced like Mee-mo) our guide was awesome! We met at noon in a central spot called Lazaro Cardenas Park in the Malecon/ Zona Romantica area which is a must see for anyone coming this way.

Memo is all about supporting the small local family own establishments and let us know that this is how the locals eat but will be mailing information about other restaurants that we may want to visit at another time.

Our first stop was at the beach with a family that does fish and prawns on a stick. Tasty with local spices and lemon. It was just enough to get me excited for the next sampling🤗

Next stop... ceviche at Mariscos El Guero about 2 blocks away from the beach. I have to say it was one of the freshest, yummiest ceviches I have ever tasted. It was made with a white fish called Borta. When I’m back PV agin, I will get it by the kilo which is only 180 peso which is about $9.53 right now.

From there we went to Casa De La FS (will update this when I get the family name-see sign in picture). We sampled ceviche that was made with chunky style fish instead of grounded. I also got to try a new dish made in a mortar with herb, lemon, peppers and onions with raw shrimp. Yes, this was my first experience with eating raw shrimp and I have to say I was a little apprehensive at first. Feeling that the massive amounts of lemon, onion and spices will kill any bacteria, I gave it a try. I have to say I enjoyed it but not sure if I would order it as a meal but to sample or a tapas, I would do it again.

7AFB8656-CF20-4717-AD98-23C93E501CB0.jpeg

This is one of the restaurants that you find at the family’s home. This is not uncommon in Latin American countries. I found this to be quite common in Costa Rica as well. It was interesting going to the restroom walking through the families kitchen while they there eating and talking. You felt like familia.FD94B7EB-446B-4924-B88D-BA76CBCFE896.jpegDD86B51F-D946-46B3-BB9A-0B30364E05AC.jpeg

The next stop was a place that offered out door cart dining and in door dining called Los Lirios. We did cart dining. Though I was too full to enjoy it, the piggy in me couldn’t say no to the prawn (yes these puppies were big😯) and octopus tac. I got to sample the seafood soup and smoke marlin taco. The taste reminded me of sardines but sweeter. The burrito you see in the pic is loaded with shrimp, octopus and veggies, no rice or beans as fillers with a salad for around $8.50. This stand also works on the honor system. They don’t do food tickets.936F9FE4-4DF6-4D84-9B4A-93C8C006821A.jpeg
F24180F9-99A6-460F-B156-D06CB7706702.jpeg
812119E8-356E-42FC-9847-11A4153242CD.jpeg

BF14D271-C614-4358-A93E-FF9246670245.jpeg4935BEBB-3716-4C0A-BB7F-60D797BF03BC.jpeg

Last stop was at the local helado (Ice cream) and sorbet shop to refresh our pallets. They had sorbets as well and I choose the passion fruit. How often do you get to try fresh passion fruit sorbet? I felt so stuffed and happy. The seafood lover in me was definitely satisfied.

I will definitely do it again. I plan to bring friends along next time. So how much did I spend for this local seafood adventure with sorbet on top? Approx 250 Pesos which equal at the time about $13.22 + $10 tip for Memo.

So worth it! And he does other Walks as well. I am game for the art and taco walks as well. You can find Memo on Evite under Seafood Walk 101.

Peace, Love & Safe Travels💗🌸✨

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46