Capilano Suspension Bridge Park - Vancouver, B.C. (Part 1)

in #travel6 years ago

One thing that @haileyscomet and I love to do more than almost anything is hike out in nature, so when I was doing research on things to do near Vancouver and heard about hiking up in the trees, I knew Hailey would love it. Not only that but the highlight of the 'bridge park' is a huge suspension bridge over a valley and river! The bridge is 140 metres long and 70 metres above the river flowing below (like my use of metric there my American friends lol, but really we are still adjusting to the the conversions).

Even though I am not a fan of heights at all, I though Hailey would enjoy the thrills of being up that high so we set a day and made our way just to the outskirts of the downtown area. We got there at 5:30 (ran a little a late but ended up rushing and not needing to) because it was 30% off for tickets after 5 and you can't pass up a deal like, not mention it is much cooler then as well. So we got in and after viewing a First Nations history section (check out that in the coming series), we went straight for the suspension bridge, and wow was it shakey and somewhat terrifying. I am not sure if I had really been on a bridge like this before, but I was not expecting it to be so unstable, I thought I was going to fall at one point. Wait and see the video coming soon, it is pretty funny to hear me.

After getting more comfortable I tried to get some shots peaking over the edge but I get real nervous from the heights and being afraid of my camera falling. I wasn't able to get any good shots from the edge but did get some decent video and you will see in the coming video. We then took some mental pictures and finished crossing. It was and wasn't that big of a deal but either way, we were going to have to cross it again.

We then went for the hike up on the bridges in the trees that I though would be cool originally, which we will be highlighting on the next blog. We then walked around the the rest of that side and got some cool side shots of the big bridge, that you can see pictured below. Then we trekked back across the bridge. This time a kid ran across the bridge and people were pissed, scared, terrified, and the park staff even told him to stop yelling over a loud intercom system. Other than that it was smooth sailing and was much easier to cross this go round.

Next we went to the 'Cliff Walk' section which is pictured towards the end. This section of bridges were all connected with steel cables that was set into the rock and the canyon was just below you, making it quite scary but it was nothing after the bridge. After the short hike, we checked out a few of the exhibits, bought some gifts from the gift shop and we were on our way.

Overall we were kind of disappointed as the views were not that great and we thought it would be bigger, higher, and have more thrills. But I am glad we did and you have to try things out to know for yourself. So if you have kids, I would for sure go, but if just adults you might want to find something else to do.

Shot with a Canon 6-D DSLR with a TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II Tilt-Shift Lens.

1IMG_7667.jpg

1IMG_7674.jpg

1IMG_7701.jpg

1IMG_7720.jpg

1IMG_7715.jpg

1IMG_7726.jpg

1IMG_7722.jpg

1IMG_7734.jpg

stee.jpg

Please give me a follow here on Steemit, check out my travel website and join my doTERRA essential oils team!

Sort:  

Wow! I've been there! Have you been to the new Sea to Sky suspension bridge in Squamish? It's great too!

Wow amazing Capilano Suspension Bridge Park . Your #Photography also Amazing

Que aventura tan rica, unas fotos espectaculares, @mickeybeaves.

Where is this amazing hanging breeze.its wonderful breeze.

It was a great experience. In the last photo, I found it resembling supertrees in Singapore

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25