Magic Places - Cape Woolamai

in #travel6 years ago

Back to the coast again with this post in my Magic Places series. Today I show you the spectacular sea stacks of Cape Woolamai in Australia.

I explored this area back in 2016 during my travels along Australia’s east coast. After visiting the Great Ocean Road we drove past Melbourne to Phillip Island. At the south-eastern tip of the island you find the trail head for a beautiful coastal walk along the cliffs of the Cape.

Woolamai

It was an easy 30 minute walk until I arrived at the viewpoint above the so called Pinnacles. The view from up there was already great. But I wanted to photograph the rocks from up close, so I had to do a little bit of sliding and climbing.

Getting down to the shore wasn’t too bad, but I wouldn’t recommend it after a rain when it’s wet. Down at the coast there are countless boulders and at first I was a bit overwhelmed by the scenery.

In such situations it’s important to arrive early. I still had one hour until sunset and used the time to scout the area. Once the sun broke through the clouds, which where obscuring the sky during my explorations, I was ready for this awesome display of light.

Pinnacles

If this little article inspired you to head out to the coast and take some seascape photos of your own, I recommend heading over to my last article about photographing seascapes. There I show my workflow for photographing waves.

Also, I just released a very detailed Start2Finish Tutorial, in which I show exactly how I created the first photo in this article.

instagram    google-plus    facebook    flickr    youtube

!steemitworldmap -38.559040 lat 145.343673 long Cape Woolamai D3SCR

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mibreit-photo to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mibreit-photo
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=magic-places-cape-woolamai


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Beautiful photos!!!

They are pretty cool. You have just amazing and wonderful skills.

Hi! What a great post with some familiar images:).... Once again, your image turned out to be the winner of my 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge. Kindly see if you can attend your winner announcement post and answer some of the comments which is a great way to build your followers. Have a good one and thank you for submitting such amazing pics! Tomas

ColorChallenge - Yellow Wednesday - @mibreit-photo in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

I thank you for showcasing my photos :-)

Awesome post as usual ;)...already following you !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84