My Exchange #16 - Welcome to WESTWORLD!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Paramount Ranch is the name of the ranch where they filmed parts of the famous HBO series Westworld. I really liked the first season of Westworld, so when I found out that the ranch is situated just a one hour drive from Long Beach, California (where I live) I just had to go see the place in person. I actually got so excited about visiting the ranch that I re-watched the whole first season of Westworld with my roommate!

IMG_20171028_112523.jpg

Paramount Ranch was leased in 1923 by Paramount Pictures to be used as a movie set. In 1953, William Hertz, a lover of western movies, bought a part of the ranch and built up a permanent western town where television companies could produce western films.

Apart from the series, movies like American Sniper, Norbit and Blast from the Past were also filmed here. It is completely free to visit the park and you can often even visit it when there is a filming taking place!

Paramount Ranch is not the main village in Westworld but a smaller one that appears every now and then throughout the series but mainly in the last episode.

Do you recognize any of the houses in these pictures?

IMG_20171028_112921.jpg

GOPR8497.JPG

GOPR8503.JPG

IMG_20171028_111236.jpg

GOPR8507.JPG

GOPR8504.JPG

IMG_20171028_111333.jpg

IMG_20171028_112552.jpg

IMG_20171028_112717.jpg

The church was actually built for the series, and the top steeple was removed after they were done filming the first season so that the church would not look exactly like in the series.

Sadly we were not allowed to enter any of the buildings, but I am pretty sure they were empty anyways and most of the filming at this ranch was done outdoors. The ranch was smaller than I expected it to be, but it was still really nice to walk on the same street that Dolores walked on and I really enjoyed watching the last episode of season one after visiting this ranch!

Apart from the western town the ranch is also surrounded by several miles of scenic hike routes. Since it was a really hot day we decided to limit our walking and head to the beach instead, but if I go back to visit Paramount Ranch again I will definitely take the time to go for a hike.

The ranch is situated just by Mulholland Highway, which is one of the most famous scenic roads in Los Angeles County. It runs through the beautiful Santa Monica Mountains and is definitely worth the drive! One part of the road called "The Snake" is especially famous, it is a two-mile stretch that ends with one of the most crashed corners in Southern California. So do be aware and drive carefully if you decide to take that route!

If you wish to visit Paramount Ranch, this is the address:
2903 Cornell Road, Agoura Hills, CA, 91301

For those of you who might have noticed that I have not been posting in a long while (over a month!), I have not abandoned steemit, it has just been a month full of mid terms, study projects and adventures! As the end of the semester is approaching I have more and more things to do and as much as I would like to post on steemit at least once a week, I also want to focus on my studies and spend time exploring California. Thank you for sticking with me! I will be posting more as soon as I have a less hectic schedule.

Thank you for reading!

mialinnea

Sort:  

What is this? An empty post? This doesn't look like anything to me.

Omg, that is the most clever comment ever!

Thanks :D I should watch the show again, as I've always thought it is amazing.

The worst thing what I have heard of Westworld was when someone was calling it boring. I can't believe it.

I've never heard anyone call it boring. But if I would hear that then I wouldn't be able to believe it either :P

I have heard from multiple people - now I would seriously like to have the "This comment doesn't sound like anything to me"-type of ability.

haha, yeah I understand that!

That's really cool!
I binge watched the first season and really liked it, I'm usually into sci-fi stuff. Recently watched the movie Arrival which I also found to be awesome, was planning on making a review of it at some point. Have you watched it? Can really recommend.

I binge watched the first season as well the first time I saw it, I think the plot is genius and I noticed so many new things now that I watched it a second time! I haven't watched Arrival yet but I have heard a lot about it, both good and bad. I look forward to reading the review if you write it! :)

This deserves some attention. Upvoted and resteemed...

Thank you! I appreciate it :)

This is sooo cool :) awesome pics as well

Thank you! ^_^

This is amazing, Westworld is defnitely one of my favourite shows on at the moment, cannot wait for the second season! Look forward to seeing more of your adventure! thanks @mialinnea

This is not fair. You post a lot for a few days and then you disappear for weeks.

COME BACK

Hey! I just came home from a 9 day road trip through California, so I haven't had the time to post anything lately 🙂 And you might not see many posts from me in the following weeks either because the finals are starting and my sister is coming to visit. But I'm still here! With many new adventures to post about as soon as I have some free time again 😛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85