Lviv- Lions, Beer and Coffee

in #travel6 years ago

,

It was my first time in Lviv… Cloudy weather, great foods and many programmers. Actually, Lviv is a city of art. Everyone loves to talk about art and experience it deeply. Street musicians, Opera House and you have many more things about art in Lviv. Generally, I love write about tech and product development things, but I should speak about this city and beautiful people.But, let’s start with some good food in Lviv. With my dear friend, firstly I visited the Cafe Centaur in Rynok Square. First challenge is finding the english speaking staff but many people can say that there are no people speaks english in Ukraine but it’s not true about Lviv.

I asked for her fav dish in the restaurant and my lovely waitress served me this beautiful Virmenka with lamb. To be truth, it’s my fav food in Lviv and I ate it many times. It’s not spicy, but it’s still perfect with a merlon wine. This beauty is only 68 UAH! Baby, give me more…

Borscht soup is very tradional thing for Ukrainians. Again you can find a great lamp inside this red tasty soup and little bit spice. I saw an another version of borscht with boiled eggs. Ehh.. It’s not my thing. I’m Turkish you know, give me some meat.

Breakfast? Lviv Croissant is the answer. You know I taste some bad versions of scrambled eggs and some buffet things but it’s the best alternative. Those guys are good, they are perfect! During the first trip, I tried bacon, tuna fish and vegetable ones. All of them were just perfect.

Strudel is very traditional dessert and it’s so good with espresso based coffee. Just order a cherry syrup with it. One good thing about this place is Turkish Coffee. When I said I’m Turkish they served me some it was good but you know, I’m not a turkish coffee fan. However they are serving the Turkish coffee with great likor. It’s a good Turkish tradition but you can’t find it in Turkey anymore.

Stari Mury tea and coffee house is lovely. I’m addict to their ginger coffee. Also I tried some Prague Cake but ok it’s not the thing about Lviv.

Pravda is very popular place in Lviv. They are serving great craft beer with great hospitality. I tried many craft beer in this place, God! I loved it! Can you see the little brown thing in the plate? It’s called Spicy Malt In Caramel in English. I’m not a good beer person but it’s definetly the best thing you can order with your craft beer. Pork skin chips? Imm.. I’m not sure about this. Craft beers are 25 UAH, and it’s cheap man!

I know I talked about food in all this article. But it’s the last one for the food. Great Arsenal Restaurant. No fork, no spoon… Anything! Just order the great pork ribs with craft beer and may be some salad with it. It was the best thing in the Lviv about food and great waitress Solomiya helped me a lot about finding the good combination. Ya lublu debe Solomiya, dakuyu! See you again.OK! Enough for food I guess. There are many more things, but I’m gonna stop at this point. I met with Catherine in Lviv. She is a very talented interpreted and a lovely actress. She took me a bar called Bierlin we ordered some beer and snacks . Getting to know her was one of the best thing in Lviv. Ukraine is in a serious war situation with Russia in the east of the country. I heard that nearly 1 millions young people lost their lifes in this terrible war. Everyday people are praying and hoping peace for their future. One of my friend told me that some of old people really want to create a big czar and one big country. As they told me, this idea created the war. I asked one of my Ukrainian friends about their politics and she said “our president has chocolate factory and he should leave his business” At least, the president with big concerns about war has some sweet problems in the internal politics. I hope this great people will reach the peace as soon as possible without any lose.

Lviv is a cultural capital of Ukraine but also they are becoming a tech capital of Eastern Europe too. Many of my friends in Lviv are programmers. Everyone is trying to build something or involve something about tech. Economy of Ukraine is not the best but this strategy definetly make them better in the near future. After the war, goverment banned the VK and some Russian websites. Still there are people who are using those sites with VPN however many of them switch to Facebook, Whatsapp or Viber. C’mon people, they have better UI.

Everybody knows that I’m a good smoker. Sisha is becoming a cultural thing in Ukraine. There is no much sisha bar however every night club, bar or even cafe has sisha service. But I will talk about a one place called Habbl Babbl. Sisha in photograph designed by my great friend Andriue for Habbl Babbl and awarded 2 times in national competitions in design category. Also they are making lovely mixes (I smoked the best mixes in this bar) and serving great cocktails. You should go there and meet with this people. Andriue, Vova, Nikita, Anastasia, Olena, Vasa, Pablo and more. Drink Nikita’s great cocktails and coffee; and involve their perfect friendship. They have great mixes and great sisha concept in this bar. However, sisha is good if you have a great friends and talk. They also served me those things too. I will always thankful to them and visit them so often in Lviv. By the way, Vova is getting married with his lovely future wife. So bravo! Ya duze rada Habbl Habbl, dakuyu ta ya lublu!

I visited the Music Lab so often in Lviv. I’m so happy to meet with Anna and Inna who are the member of Astory Band. Lovely sound, great covers and hearing Ukrainian songs from Anna… Inna is a great piano girl with academic background. Inna is very talented vocal with great ups and downs. Still I’m listening her covers and their EP will come soon. One of my reason to comeback Lviv soon is this people (and also Habbl!) I guess they should reach more people all over the world. So, you should meet with them and hear something from them.Facebook Page:https://www.facebook.com/astoryband/


In this city, wheather is cloudy but you can find warm people, good music and good food. In the second part of this article, I want to talk about more local things and their problems. Keep in touch!See you

Sort:  

that would be an interesting place to visit, thx for sharing about your experiences. I too hope the conflict over there settles down so that they can find peace

Actually there is no any sign of War in Lviv. However when you talk with people sometimes you can feel the war and its so sad. But if you wanna travel to Lviv, its totally safe. May be some troubles in donetsk

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mertbarbaros from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75