Why traveling has changed my life...

in #travel8 years ago (edited)


Okay, so I'm usually living paycheck to paycheck, with little to spare. My name is Lisa, I'm a 27 year old preschool teacher and I'm in desperate need of a hobby, besides spending money on the weekends. I've been working a 9-5, Monday through Friday, with the same routine:

Wake up.

Drive to work.

Sit in traffic......why is there so much traffic?!

Work all day. Need I say more??

Drive home.

Sit in traffic..... *silently contemplating riding a bike for the rest of my life*

Get home, do some chores, watch some Netflix and fall asleep before I do it all over again.


Okay, so am I suppose to do this for the rest of my life? It seems okay for now, but eventually when you throw some kids in the mix it will seem that my life will continue that list..... on repeat.............along with re-runs of "Dora the Explorer" and children's birthday parties.


SO, I woke up one day and decided I would FINALLY take a chance and purchase a plane ticket to anywhere I wanted to go.

The last time I was on a plane was when I was seven years old and flew to visit my aunt in Oregon. And that was about a three hour flight. I needed MORE!

I decided to change my mentality from "I can't travel, I'm way too broke" to "I don't care what I have to do! I'm going on an adventure and enjoying my life!"

I decided to buy a plane ticket to Copenhagen, Denmark, also known as "the happiest place on Earth". After I purchased my plane ticket I worked my ass off! I picked up extra babysitting jobs on the weekends and during the week when I got off work. I started looking around my place and noticing things I really didn't need anymore---- then sold it on craigslist. (I love and fear you, Craigslist). No unused item in my place was safe anymore. RIP to all the items I made money from selling.

I couldn't believe I was actually flying on plane, as an adult, for fourteen hours! I also didn't have anyone who was willing to come with me, which was quite fine with me. I had never traveled alone before--- wait, I had never really even traveled at all. The same things always stopped me:

My job wouldn't give me the time off.

I didn't have anyone else that was interested in coming along.

I'm broke.

I was fine with watching travel shows rather than actually experiencing it for myself.

And then that was it. Just jumping into it and buying a ticket forced me to save the money and put me in the "hustle mode" that I needed! I demanded to my boss that I needed the time off of work and it worked! It was all falling into place.

AND THEN THE DAY HAD ARRIVED.

I was finally traveling to another country, alone and full of fear and excitement. What was I doing? Who would I meet? Where would I stay? How could I do this all my own? Will I run out of money and die of starvation?

And then I arrived and it all was clear: I am a survivor and I will figure this all out. I am meant to constantly explore and I am meant to forever be "WOWED" by Earth's beauty. I am not meant to be bored and limited by a routine lifestyle!

After feeling this amazing rush of exploring Denmark, this new, amazing world, I decided to take a boat to Sweden. After I spent a few days in Sweden I decided to take a plane to Amsterdam. Then Russia. Then Canada. Then Mexico. And then I just kept traveling. And I won't stop! My mind and soul needs to search and explore. It needs freedom.

Of course, life isn't easy and I can't just quit my job (I actually really love my job). So, I just make extra money any way I can: dogsitting, babysitting, selling on craigslist/ebay, etc. I am continuing to show myself new places, local and afar. My life is much sweeter and filled with purpose and drive.

I am writing this because I know how hard it is to try new things when you're feeling stuck. But sometimes you just have to do the opposite of what your mom and dad have always taught you and MAKE AN IMPULSIVE DECISION! We have to try new things! These are the moments that we will forever remember and embrace. We make our lives. Make it beautiful and free.

Still learning how to add photos to this but you can check out my Instagram for some of my fun traveling photos, plus some of the things I've started to do once I finally began to explore :)

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/meowkittee/





https://www.google.com/search?q=st+basil+church&biw=1920&bih=919&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiO56-Tg5POAhUq64MKHVZ7BLQQ_AUICCgD#imgrc=Grt0AmfE2W3REM%3A

https://www.instagram.com/p/0dXOt0sXZSKP452U-WRERj8ybQswqO1arV0cs0/?taken-by=meowkittee

Sort:  

I don't have enough courage to do it :(

you can do it! I've always been stuck in my comfort zone but i finally had to push myself :p

Just go somewhere close then. It gets easier with each jump.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10