Turn Your Face Into The Wind

in #travel8 years ago (edited)
Port Elizabeth, South Africa.

Not a day goes by where the trees don't bend over touching the ground in the vast city, Port Elizabeth. This past week, my dad and I went on a road-trip of 11 hours to get to PE before round 1 of the Monster Energy Nationals. 

The motocross track in PE, Rover, is known as the Sandbox. It's the most dominating track in South Africa. It's physically and mentally demanding. Thursday, (two days before the national) my dad and I had a nice breakfast and coffee to start our day. To keep fit, we went for a swim in a beautiful pool, putting in some freestyle and breaststroke laps, for the simple reason - to not over stress about Saturday. On our way back to the hotel, we found a beach, Sardinia Bay. The wind was hoaling as it's always, but as stubborn as we are we stopped there anyway. 

The wind blowing harshly

Friday came, Rover saw us at 7 in the morning looking for the best pits. We had to leave at 10 to fetch my mom at the airport, so we were running around looking for tape and paper to reserve our pits before someone else takes it. Arriving at the airport, we couldn't find one open parking. So knowing my dad, he'll go park at the car rentals... 

And so the big day came. My first national. An early morning at Rover, and it looks like the whole South Africa was already there. As if we were actually late! They kicked off the day with the 50cc Class. Then the 65cc, Pro Mini's and so on. By the time practice was over the track was already as tough as can be. SO just imagine by Heat 2.

I had a few crashes and didn't get the results I hoped for, but a 5th place in my first national was a success. 

I'd just like to thank all my sponsors, KTM Raceworx, Louwrens Mahoney, EKSbrand Goggles, Just1 Helmets, USWE Sports, EMD Racing, HRP, EVS and Leadertread Mozambique. 

My setup was on point though.
Getting some airtime
Sort:  

5th is a great result on a demanding sandy track!
Awesome write up @megan35!
Your mindset is perfect for the sport as you need to focus hard just to turn up and compete.

The season starts here end of march but our tracks look very different to yours :)

I look forward to reading about your future podiums :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53912.73
ETH 2234.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30