Alaska: Best Vacation ive ever had

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

GOPR1006.JPG

Still trying to adjust from my escape from reality in Alaska; its just so different from anywhere else that ive been that I fell in love with the place. The wilderness; the different rules; and especially the low population.

GOPR1076.JPG
I live in the suburbs where one city blurs into the next and the county alone has a population of 2.2 million. The entire state of Alaska has a population of 780,000. When is the last time you went skiing or snowboarding and almost had the entire mountain to yourself?

IMG_4733.jpg

When I say different rules: Denali Park is a free for all - no trails; just explore. It discourages making trails so if your with more than one person; walk side by side. So it reminds me of what it would have been like 150 years ago if you get far enough away from humanity. Just don't fall the brochure says: More deaths are caused by falls than any other reason in the park.

IMG_4770.JPG

IMG_4772.JPG

IMG_4768.JPG

IMG_4769 (1).JPG

GOPR0930.JPG

Its funny because I remember going to China and coming back home thinking "Wow! There's no one around."

All perspective I guess.

But yes! Alaska was amazing from the moment we landed to the sad minute we had to say goodbye.

IMG_4651.jpg

And then Delta put the only sour taste in my mouth... they were delayed into Seattle by 2 hours; missed our stop over. Which I wasn't at all upset about. When I landed and our luggage was lost... it was slightly upsetting. Sat in the Uber and the driver said "Wow, you two are packing light." lol.

the-best-funny-pictures-of-sad-luggage.jpg

My fiancé's luggage showed up on a plane that arrived an hour later and was couriered to the house by midnight. Mine was found in San Diego; at the far end of the state. I suppose I could see mixing up San Jose for San Diego. Next available flight was in the morning; with a stop over in Los Angeles. Fuck me; right?! I knew something was gonna go wrong but oh well... its out of my control.

th.jpg

Next day; no call no show. They lost my luggage again. I had to call and complain this time; next day they found it still in the baggage terminal. Jeezus! A courier dropped it off 3 days after I landed. Had antibiotics in there for my tooth pain... nothin important. Well that's my vent about Delta. Don't have much experience with Delta - the flight to the destination was fine but the way they handled things on the way home was a fucking disaster.

Heavy-Luggage.gif


medicbtom.png

U5du7oHWNNkRsQpBk5o1XBdpanrUGKW.gif

All photos which are not from my gopro or iPhone are taken from bing search engine

Sort:  

Omg Alaska is beautiful! or at least in the photos you took, especially this one:

Mann it really looks like a fairy tale!!

Lovely and amaizing adventure!! will you return to alaska?

That one was taken in Seward with my GoPro. Went out kayaking in the water that day. I have a lot more great photos. Still trying to find the time to go through them all. But yes, 100% ill go back.

Hello @medicbtom 👋

I'm glad that despite few troublesome with flights and service of airlines, you consider your trip to be awesome and successful 🙂👍
Your photos are great 📷🆒, and I think that will be nice reminder of this journey, and gonna stay with you for years ✔✔✔
I think you really loved this place, and I also like it - even for the same reasons. I just love quiet and secluded places. Thanks to you, I know that I have to visit Alaska in the future 🙂👍

Thanks for the interesting article, reading it was very pleasant! Take care! 👌👌

Join The First FREE And Friendly Voting Service! Join Now! steem.link/inc

You just planted 0.86 tree(s)!


Thanks to @medicbtom

We have planted already 7422.89 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22160.84
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

Wow Alaska seems amazing!

I love the pictures, Incredible!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70