The Top 50 places I've been to: #6 Lagoons of the Andean Altiplano

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

This is a hostile place, hardly accessible. Oxygen is scarce, the sun is violent and temperatures drop dramatically at night. Yet, these extreme conditions allow for one of the most remarkable habitats on earth. It's like a big Safari on this wide open high plane. And then there are those volcanic mountains with those colorful lagoons and once you catch a glimpse you can't let go. 4000, 5000, 6000 meters and counting ....

DSC02103.JPG

DSC02119.JPG

DSC02182.JPG

DSC02232.JPG

DSC02062.JPG

DSC02083.JPG

Sort:  

Wonderful places up there. I had the chance to visit in 2010/2011, e.g. Putre, Lago Chungara, Salar de Surire and so on.

I'm still astonished by the harsh beauty of the Altiplano :) I really hope I can get the chance to return one day.

The Lauca part of Chile is the best - included in a future post for sure :D

Looks amazing but I'm not quite sure I could deal with it!!

Where is this?Which country? Upvoted!

All pics taken on the Bolivian side of the altiplano :-)

Looks amazing! The landscape is lovely!
I have never seen views of that kind, thanks for sharing .

Amazing posts, I'm glad you posted them.
You're living the life, that's for sure :)

You didn't mention which country this is. Looks like Chile? Maybe somewhere near San Pedro de Atacama or Parinacota?

Almost :-) - all those pics are taken on the Bolivian side of the altiplano not too far from San Pedro actually. Pictures from Chile coming soon - even better imo. The Parinacota volcano is the cherry on the cake ;)

These pictures reminded me of a road trip I made last year in the Atacama Desert in Chile near San Pedro. Really great experience to drive with a 4x4 in the beautiful altiplano...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52