The Top 50 places I've been to: #20 Pacific Equatorial Cloud Forests in Ecuador

in #travel7 years ago

Rainforest in South America? The answer is a no brainer, right? Amazonia. But wait there is another one hardly anyone has heard of. Probably because only 2% of this ecosystem remain. I'm talking about the coastal forests on the Pacific coast that are isolated by the Andes from the Amazon. Unique species thrive here and biodiversity is/was said to be even higher than in the Amazon. And the cloud forests here are among the finest on our planet.

I was lucky enough to spend 2 month in a private rainforest reserve that protects the last patches of this unique ecosystem on the Pacific coast of Ecuador. As I only had a poor mobile camera, photo quality isn't really good sorry.

SAM_1426.jpg

SAM_1305.jpg

SAM_1332.jpg

SAM_1341.jpg

SAM_1423.jpg

SAM_1439.jpg

SAM_1448.jpg

SAM_1493.jpg

Sort:  

Nice to share. I ve been around many countries lately. I think I may share my photos too :)

wow the photos look amazing. must have been a great experience. cross the fingers that it will stay like this

Richtig coole Sache! Müsst ich auch mal machen, für 2 Monate im nichts, hört sich geil an!

So green and dense this forest. I'm sure a lot of poisonous animals live there, right?
What did you do there for two month?

It was an internship learning about permaculture and tropical ecology. You can check it out here http://tmalliance.org

I have yet to be to a rainforest, high on my list. Do you know why they call it a 'cloud' forest?

Yeah you should definitely go :-) - A cloud forest is misty most of the time because humidity from the ocean drifts inward and gets stuck along mountain ridges. Plants can now get the moisture from these clouds making it super wet at all times. Just 200 meters lower in elevation it can be bone dry. Such a forest actually doesn't need rain - cloud cover it all that is required :-)

Thanks for the explanation. That sounds AMAZING and right up my alley as my business is plants!

wow what a amazing forest

2 months? Wow, that's a long time! :)..I guess you got to see many things there!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80