The Top 50 places I've been to: #1 Rainbow Mountain in the Peruvian Andes

in #travel6 years ago

With the influx of tons of new users, it's time to start a new series showcasing the natural world. I'm going to present the 50 most amazing places I've been to in my life (in no particular order). And maybe you can show me yours in the comment section. Let's go!

#1 Peru's Rainbow Mountain

Just 2 years ago, this mountain hidden deep in the Peruvian Andes was a total secret. Then, tour operators in Cusco began to discover this place and today hundreds of tourists are brought in daily. It's getting more crowded by the day.

But hey, we are talking here about an altitude of 5100 meters with all the adverse effects of this staggering height. When we were there, there was only one way to describe it: 'The big suffering'. Tourist completely unprepared (especially when you're not acclimatized) to walk several kilometers and climb from 4300m to 5100m. We saw people collapsing, horses everywhere to get the crowds up and down. And on the way back to Cusco the main activity was handing around vomit bags.

When you make it to the top however, it's out of this world, one of the most amazing places on our dear planet. Enjoy!

DSC01043.JPG

DSC01042.JPG

DSC01025.JPG

DSC01050.JPG

DSC01083.JPG

DSC01091.JPG

DSC01078.JPG

Next: # The Cenotes of Yucatan

Sort:  

Had no idea it was that high! I knew it would be high but 5100m no wonder people have trouble. I'd really like to see this place but can just imagine myself getting annoyed there are so many tourists. Alla bout finding those unknown locations. nice pictures dude.

Incredible place! Can't wait to see the rest of the series but I can totally see why this is number one. I'm not sure I'd really fancy these big hiking adventures, but the end reward does seem pretty amazing. It certainly helps me understand why you put yourself through it all to get there!

Beautiful!!!

Wow! It's absolutely beautiful! I have never been to Pakistan, but now I want to! :)

A very tiring journey. But comparable with the natural beauty that is there. A great challenge to get a breathtaking view. Thanks for sharing @mcsvi.

yes good boss

i would love to go up there myself too

Dude this place looks amazing! I like this top places post format as well good idea. I have been thinking about doing something similar.

I did the track too 15 months ago. The big suffering describes it well. It was snowing, mud everywhere, thick clouds and thousands of tourists ;-) At the top I didn't see any colorful moutains at all. But it was still a nice experience hiking in this altitude. Good training ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01