From The Atacama Desert To The Sky - Lagunas Altiplanicas

in #travel8 years ago

This is probably one of the most remarkable places I've ever been to. Starting from San Pedro De Atacama (Chile) at an altitude of about 2500m you make your way up to the Andean Altiplano well above 4000m. The lagoons are colorful and the rock formations even more so. There is little more to say about this alien place. 

All pictures were take in March 2016. The sun is extremely violent up there, so my funny hat is really a necessity :-)

The first place is called 'Piedras Rojas'. Me sitting in a 'salt pan' in front of this glassy lake and the bluest sky one can imagine. 

The place is so peaceful and stunning at the same time. 

 

It is no wonder that this volcano chose to pop up at the horizon.

I could be sitting here for ages.


On the way back there is another lagoon called 'Lagunas Miscanti and Miniques'. It looks completely different. Deep blue and scarce vegetation around it.

And my hat is still serving its purpose.

There are organized tours from San Pedro de Atacama. So everybody can go to these places. Just do it. 

Sort:  

Awesome! I'm going to have to take a trip to Chile and have you be my tour guide!

What an amazing feeling it must be to stand there.

Great post. Are you still in Chile? If so, will you be coming to the South? STEEM ON!

Unfortunately not. I'm sitting here in pre-winter rainy Munich ;). We traveled from the northern border (Arica) all the way down to Santiago. I'll definitely come back to visit the south one day :-). Are you in Chile?

Yes, we're in the South, near Puerto Varas

Lucky you :D

Very beautiful places there!

Cool travel!
Beautiful photos Atacama Desert.

I have to add this to my "places to visit" list. Just stunning...

Upvoted by travel-trail
Join us in the steemtrail chat channel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70