Cycling Along The Deserted Peruvian Coast In Search Of Hidden BeachessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

The Pacific Ocean along the western coast of South America is rough, exceptionally cold and as most people would argue not particularly beautiful. And as this may be true for some parts there is another side. Just 2 hours south of Lima is a stretch of coastline of outstanding grandeur. The beaches you can find in this colorful desert easily match those of the Caribbean and if you ask me they're even better.

So take a bus south to the small fishing village of Paracas, rent one of these really well-maintained bikes and just head south into Paracas National Park. If you start early nobody will charge you anything because the national park officially opens at 8am and the control station isn't occupied until then. So here is a collection of the pictures that we took.

SA2017-168.jpg


Playa La Mina - Would have never expected to see such massive beauty out there. But beware the water is cold and the sun is relentless.

SA2017-183.jpg

Vultures love the blue sky

SA2017-173.jpg

Rugged and Beautiful

SA2017-177.jpg

Playa Roja - Have you ever seen a red sanded beach?

SA2017-179.jpg

SA2017-196.jpg

I can hardly imagine a better place to bike around :-)

SA2017-182.jpg

SA2017-189.jpg

Always on the move - see you :-)

SA2017-190.jpg

And finally I want to draw some attention to the work of @phoblographer who brings amazing quality to Steemit! His latest photography is just awesome. Be sure to check it out.

Sort:  

These are some great landscapes. This one is especially nice, it has a real sense of scale:

And I'd like to thank you for drawing attention to my work, it's really very kind of you. I look forward to seeing more of your travels : )

Yay thank you :-)

sure you're welcome - I need you to post more photography so that I can learn how to become a better photographer myself.

Thanks, I'm still pretty new to Steemit but I try to put as much into each post as I can without boring people with technical jargon.

As for your own photography, I think you're doing very well. One of the best pieces of advice I can give is to try and think about the feeling you hope to convey with your images. When you do this you'll find that you're taking less pictures, but more meaningful ones.

That image I chose of you on the bike is a good example. It conveys a sense of scale, isolation, and adventure all at once. It says something to the viewer, and coupled with good composition, it's effective in it's visual appeal. Cheers for now.

awesome - thanks for the great feedback :-)

That's why I love travelling : beautiful landscapes !

Amazing pictures! Both my Parents are Peruvian and I often travel there to visit family and have seen many beaches, these however I've never been too! thanks for posting

You should definitely check them out :-)

Simply stunning imagery - worth more than a million words.

Great photos! Beautiful place!

you surely are a adventures woman! you got my follow hope you can do same for me

Actually I'm the guy taking the photos but I will forward that to her :D

hehe sorry for the missunderstanding then! love the pics gonna follow and resteem when I can.

Absolute love the post as it coinside with the series I am planning to post one of these days, touring coastal towns of South Africa.

UPVOTED & FOLLOWED

Looking forward to see those :-)

Nice!!! you have more energy than me!! We were going to cycle too, then after getting back from the island we just couldn't be bothered and jumped on a tour bus lol! Stunning pictures :) :) Wish i was right back there

yeah packing it into one day is kind of stressful but you can always return one day :-)

Lovely...very interesting to read..and your photos are beautiful..keep posting ..I am fan of yours now.
@athavan

Exelent traveller

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33