A Once in a Lifetime Sloth Encounter, Poison Dart Frogs and Murder on a Paradise IslandsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

What makes the islands of Bocas Del Toro in north-west Panama special? The main island 'Colon' is a well-known party destination in Central America but really nothing special if you're looking for pristine beaches and Caribbean lifestyle. So what you want to do is take a boat taxi to the neighbouring island of Bastimentos. The moment you step on the island you enter a different world. A thriving Afro-Caribbean community, plenty of wildlife and gorgeous beaches.

And then there is the story from February 2017, just two month before we visited, of a tourist girl being strangled on a jungle pathway near Wizard Beach. It was really scary to walk this path, patrolled by teenage police men and swim in the ocean knowing the killer is still somewhere around on this island.


Always being watched :S

DSC00191.JPG

The beautiful and normally peaceful village of Old Bank

DSC00139.JPG

DSC00142.JPG

When we found a baby sloth hanging around in our bathroom -THIS was definitely the wildlife experience of my lifetime. I can't express it with words it's just ....

DSC00156.JPG

DSC00174.JPG

These poison dart frogs are endemic to this island but they're, unlike the ones found in Colombia, not poisonous enough to harm you.

DSC09998.JPG

Both locals and tourists enjoying these wild beaches.

DSC00193.JPG

DSC00184.JPG

Sort:  

One of the things I regret the most from my travels is not meeting a sloth. I guess I'll have to get back to Central America just because of those funny animals.

I never saw one in all of South America and in Panama in two weeks I saw 5 - incredible sloth density there.

Just replied to your other comment, it got posted but never appeared - very strange :S

Well, That whole post I just posted a half an hour ago took me 2 times to write actually. I posted it and later I realized that it disappeared. Had no copy... So I wrote it all again. I was mad. Steemit is glitching due to volumes I guess. It will be a reminder to me to always make a copy.

Oh no - the dramatic downfall of Steemit ;)

Reminds me of Kristen Bell freaking out about sloths.

I posted this comment half an hour ago and it disappeared. I'm new here, sorry if it comes back and I just don't know what I'm doing.

Haha :-)

Everything alright - seeing this comment for the first time. Have a good time on Steemit :-)

amazing pictures loved the sloth

Lovely photographs!

Mannn, you livin that freedom lifestyle. Mad respect!

Sloths are so cool....beautiful pics @mcsvi, I wanna be there! following to see more

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33