Short trip to Chicago

in #travel7 years ago

We went to Chicago for a quick weekend trip recently. I had never been, and really enjoyed it. We stayed at the Palmer House, which was quite beautiful. Oldest hotel I've ever stayed at. The lobby is something to behold. Worth checking out even if you're not staying there. IMG_1506.JPG

We went on a boat tour of the river, which was super entertaining. The sites were great, and it was a cool way to learn about chicagos history.

IMG_1485.JPG

And a little more river trip

IMG_1490.JPG

After spending the rest of the day on the golden mile, we went to dinner at a great restaurant called the Gage. They make the best Old Fashioned that I've ever had. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Nice pictures and a great "old fashion"!

It's a kind of cocktail. Bitters, Whisky, and a twist of lemon is, I believe, the standard version, but there are a few variations.

Generally it's bitters, whiskey, muddled cherry and lemon or orange zest. Then strained over ice if it's good, or looted all together over ice if it's not so good.

Thanks! That's one of my favorite drinks!

I've only been to Chicago a couple of times, and both times around Christmas when the city was a madhouse, but I really enjoyed it. I didn't get far away from the downtown areas, so I'm sure Chicago has it's bad areas just like any major city, but at least in the downtown area it was much cleaner and well maintained than I pictured the heart of a major metropolis being.

I thought the same, but then watched a dude jump off the bus and run over and piss on a lion statue. A little off putting, but meh, seen worse.

Nice trips dude. I cant wait for your latest post about your travel. Visit my blog for my latest post about Golden Beach Resort.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66109.31
ETH 3290.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71