Floating Homeopath

in #travel7 years ago

I am Mary Greensmith. I am a homeopath currently based in Falmouth in Cornwall, UK. I have an exciting few months ahead and I thought I could share my plans with you.

The sale of my clinic will soon be complete. My 12 therapists will soon be under the direction of my very competent osteopath who is taking over the clinic to allow me to go travelling. For those of you who know me, you may think I will get bored traveling. You are of course absolutely right, but I have a cunning plan. The deal is .... I will go traveling as long as :

  1. I can continue working as a homeopath
  2. We can do it as self-sufficiently as is physically possible
  3. I can swim everyday

So I might have just negotiated the perfect life!

For the last two years I have lived with my hubby and dog on Georgina! Georgina is a 52 year old 44 foot Classic Motor Boat. She has been a brilliant home. Bought back to splendour by hubby whilst I have built up my Natural Health Clinic and my Homeopathic Practice. Now she is almost complete, hubby needs a new project!

IMG_1748.jpg

So this is the plan..... I sell the business in Falmouth and buy a sailing boat (a catamaran so I can have my own office), and I create a floating business on the boat. Hubby will have a new boat to kit out and I can grow my Homeopathic Business and look after more people internationally. My only requirements will be internet! Good internet .... for video calls.

IMG_1951.jpg

Obviously a sailing boat will be a much better option as far as traveling costs are concerned, Georgina has been great to live on, in one place, but to travel around proved very noisy and very expensive. I was nervous about a sailboat as I am not the best when it comes to tipping. Having been in a coach that tipped over, I haven't ever really got over the fear. Luckily hubby loves catamarans and agrees that is a perfect boat to sail around the Mediterranean.

IMG_1649.jpeg

We intend to set sail in May or June this year. Our list of things to do grows longer and longer as each day goes by. We are busy doing the finishing touches to Georgina so that she is ready to go onto the market and find her new family, hubby is busy researching all of the new gadgets he is going to need on a new boat, and I am busy thinking through how I can fit all of my books, files and remedies onto a boat without exceeding a very restricting weight allowance.

I currently have about 50% of my clients using video call, so I have a month or three to convert my local clients to the delights of video call. I have recruited another homeopath who will look after any reluctant stragglers who do not wish to mix modern technology with their more intimate health details.

Over the next few weeks and months, I hope to share with you the delights of living on a boat, the ingenious ways we get over problems, the highlights and the lowlights of being "offshore" and of earning a living whilst being "off-grid". We have many self sufficiency tips to share and challenges we have yet to solve. Being a homeopath must be the most perfect profession whilst traveling so I am feeling extremely lucky and blessed.

During February I will cease being a Practice Manager at Inspiring Health in Falmouth. I will pass the baton on and I will have a few months to build my mobile homeopathic business which means seeing clients be video rather than in person. In March, my son is getting married so I have many duties to perform (including learning to bake cakes on the boat as I promised I would bake their wedding cake (was I mad?). In April we will visit family before our departure and May we should be about ready ... waiting for the right weather window.

Lots to do, loads to plan and a huge amount to complete! Rock on 2018 (Well hopefully not so much rocking tonight as last night with the wind swirls going on at the moment).

IMG_1975.jpg

Sort:  

I’m SO excited for you, I have butterflies reading this!
I’m really looking forward to vicariously running a floating homeopathic practice and swimming daily!
@marygreensmith and ‘hubby’ and dog! Have a great time!

Thanks Sally, this will be a good way to write about life on the ocean .... and also the tribulations of getting the dog ashore!

Yes! Have you taught you’re dog to poop overboard? 😂

hey .... read my next post ... tells you all about it ... and other issues having a mut on board! https://steemit.com/animals/@marygreensmith/on-board-with-a-vizla

Wow...how wonderful ...isn't technology fab. I do all of my stuff online and it makes for such freedom and flexibility <3

We are so lucky aren't we, to be able to do this. The world is so accessible.

What a cool cool story! Can’t wait to hear of your adventures :) welcome to steemit!

Thank you, I am looking forward to seeing how steemit works and what I need to do.

Wow Mary, how cool! Bon voyage and best of luck to you and your hubby on this great adventure of yours !!! :-)

Thank you so much! Check out about having the dog on board https://steemit.com/animals/@marygreensmith/on-board-with-a-vizla

Congratulations @marygreensmith, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55