Winding the clocks back 10 years: Australia! Sydney less touristic, more local

in #travel7 years ago

19 July 2017. Wednesday. I am officially unemployed for almost 3 years now. And completely broke. More than a week ago, it was my birthday and I reached the age of 35. As well as my partner will, later this month. But we’re not that serious about celebrating our anniversaries this year…
And since my birthday, I realize: time does go by indeed!

Byron Bay
Let’s wind the clocks back 10 years again. Just because I remember and because we can.

Thursday. 19 July in the year of 2007. I’m just waking up at Base and still thinking of Byron Bay. My last sight-seeing was the Byron Bay Lighthouse at sunrise 3 days ago. I visited “The Most Easterly Point of the Australian Mainland” with my friend Bas Holweg from the Netherlands.

Foto 0 Byron Bay.JPG

Foto 1 Byron Bay.JPG

Foto 1 A Byron Bay.JPG

Foto 2 Byron Bay.JPG

Sydney Tower
Indeed, I picked up hospitality exactly where I left it in Sydney on December 20: Base Backpackers on Kent Street. I still have a bit of a hangover. I arrived by bus deep in the heart of Sydney very early in the morning 2 days ago.

To get myself back on my feet I visited the Sydney Tower. Touristic? Yes. Been there, done that? No. And the view was worth every penny!!!

Foto 1 Sydney.JPG

Foto 2 Sydney.JPG

Foto 3 Sydney.JPG

Foto 6 Sydney.JPG

Foto 7 Sydney.JPG

Apply for a job?
Today, I take my time. I am wondering whether to apply for a job, or not. There’s still time due to my itinerary. I will leave Sydney no sooner than 20 September. I booked that date with my contacts at Travel Active since I joined the Work & Travel Program: You First Group Kiwi Explorer.

Back in the Netherlands, an additional return ticket to New Zealand costed me only € 50,00 extra! And when I start travelling around New Zealand, I will definitely have the time of my life once more. No worries!

Only my Australian Working Holiday Maker is not valid over there. In Auckland I will be given a tourist visa. And considering my plans and itinerary, I can already see the money bleed out. So if I’m in need of any extra money, it might be wise to start looking for a job right now.

The Chinese Garden of Friendship
Later today I am visiting the Chinese Garden of Friendship. It is located close to Darling Harbour: one of my favorite hangout spots. Although we’ve reached winter season here now, it is still something in between 13 - 17 degrees.
And the garden looks awesome! Although it is located in the Central Business District of Sydney it is very beautiful!

Darling Harbour.JPG

Chinese tuin 0.JPG

Chinese tuin 1.JPG

Chinese tuin 2.JPG

Chinese tuin 3.JPG

Chinese tuin 4.JPG

Chinese tuin 5.JPG

Chinese tuin 6.JPG

Chinese tuin 7.JPG

The Gaff
For dinner, the Gaff on Oxford Street will suit me fine. And pretty much for the rest of the week too, since my wallet contains several discount vouchers.
By handing over a brown red-coloured voucher to the bartender, I can buy myself a drink for $4,00 and have dinner for free!

I found these vouchers on a page in a backpackers travel magazine that is available at the Base hostel sometimes. But recently, I was able to locate quite a few copies of this magazine at the postoffice on George Street.

Back in the year of 2017, I cannot think of any more specific details of these past few days… So I’d better wrap it up.

In about a few weeks I will post a new blog of my travels in Australia and New Zealand again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61362.63
ETH 2454.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56