My Top 5 in and around Santiago de Chile!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago

Long time no Steemit post, since there was too much going on in real life 🙈 I hope that from now on I can post more regularly 😊 Today I want to share my Top 5 in Santiago de Chile. Santiago was not love at first sight for me … too big, too loud, too much smog, too many stressed people. It took me a few weeks to get used to the city, but then I really started liking the city and its surroundings. Santiago has a great variety of nice cafés, bars, shops and things to visit. There are the typical touristy things like visiting the „Plaza de Armas“, but I would like to share the places in and around Santiago which I enjoyed most.

LRM_EXPORT_20180418_130230.jpg

1. Bahai Temple

The Bahai temple is located on one of the hills of Santiago and has this interesting architecture reminding me of a telescope dome or an onion. For me this place was very exciting, because it was the first time I learned something about the Bahai religion and could also enjoy a very relaxing golden hour and sunset there.

LRM_EXPORT_20180418_131042.jpg

2. Cerro San Cristóbal

This hill is perfect for an afternoon excursion on a sunny day. Taking the funicular you can enjoy a nice view over the city. On the picture you can already see my top 3 ➜ the Sky Costanera center 🌆

sky_costanera.png

3. Sky Costanera Center

Below the Sky Costanera center there is a shopping mall where you can find many shops and restaurants, but what is really awesome is to take the lift to the top of the Sky tower. It is the highest building of South America and you can have a great view overlooking the city and the mountains around it. We spent a beautiful sunset up there.

vina.png

4. Viña del Mar

Viña del Mar is directly connected to Valparaíso, so you can visit both in one day, and is the more modern city at the Pacific coast. The typical touristy thing there is the flower clock and the stadium which you can visit, but the best thing is the beach. We had a lot of fun walking at the beach and drinking a tasty Pisco Sour on a nice terrace. However, swimming is only for really though people because the water has around 14° C.

valpo.png

5. Valparaíso

This city in the neighborhood of Santiago is a 1,5 hour bus ride away and looks very unique with its colorful houses built on the steep hills overlooking the pacific. We had a nice afternoon walk around the Cerro Alegre.

If you ever go to Santiago, enjoy the city!

Sort:  

So beautiful place and great shoot
Completed information for thare place..

Thanks
For sharing 😁

Thanks a lot for your comment 🖤 happy to hear that 😊

Very nice post with amazing photos. I enjoyed it very much, and it encourages me to a visit to Santiago de Chile . That first photo reminded me of the first Baha'i Temple I ever visited, it was in Chicago. The architectures of those temples are breathtaking. Here it is.
Bahai Temple Reflection Photography - Reflection Pool Bahai Temple Wilmette-X2.jpg

Wow, this is really breathtaking 😍 I hope I can also visit the on in Chicago at one point! Thanks for your comment!

I really like this post. I am currently working with a Chilean from Santiago, in Australia. This just makes me want to go visit South America even more!

Thanks so much for your comment 🖤 you should definitely go there if you can!

Very juicy and bright! I want to visit these beautiful places... Beautiful photos!

Thanks a lot, I appreciate it 🖤 Hope you can go there soon!

So beautiful! Im hopefully going through Chile in a couple of years :)

@tristanoliff thanks a lot for your comment 🖤 happy to hear that and hopefully you can also travel through Chile!

Congratulations @marthastardust! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76