The Cold in Florida reminds me of Snow!

in #travel6 years ago

It is going to get down to near freezing tomorrow in Florida where I live.  This reminded me of my trip to Asheville, North Caroline I took a month ago. I flew right into a snow blizzard and had to drive in snow for the first time since I had lived in Indiana. I had driven in some snow when I visited my daughter in Alaska, but it was on the ground already and not actually snowing.  I had to drive form Charlotte, North Caroline up to Asheville, because my flight between the two was cancelled because of the snow.  It was a little scary at first, but after I stopped to get something to eat, about and hour into the trip, the snow plows had cleared the road I was taking and it was an easy drive from then on.   It was all worth it as the snow was sticking to everything that it touched and just made an amazing scene everywhere you looked!

This is the hotel I stayed at, The Inn on Biltmore Estate. This was one of the nicest hotels I had stayed in, in quite a while. The rooms were great and the restaurant was out of this world. With all the snow it just looked like a fairy land dream. 

You can see they had to road to the hotel all nice and plowed. This was the view from my room. Doesn't get much better than that!

The hotel had tables outside that you could eat at on the terrace. Don't think anyone is going to be eating out there until maybe spring.

I tried going outside without my jacket on.

I put my jacket on to go check out the snowman someone had made in the courtyard of the hotel. I had not seen a real snowman for maybe 22 years. Have you ever made a snowman?

Just look how beautiful the grounds of the hotel were. I had a great dinner in the dinning room. It was 5 star service and everything tasted so good. I don't really do food shots, so no pictures of the food.  

The next morning I was all warm in the hotel and I had to break out my sweatshirt. Look at this great Christmas tree the hotel had in their lobby. 

Some outside decorations.

A river runs right near the hotel and I got this picture of it. I think it is probably frozen over by now as Asheville has been below freezing for many days now. 

This was a wonderful trip, if you ever get near Asheville, you should stay at this hotel and go see the Biltmore Estate. I did do several blogs about that a month ago. I did get to take my flight out of Asheville to Charlotte as the weather was fine. Then it was back to Florida and some warmth, until today, I'm cold!



Sort:  

Very cool, but a bit too cool by the looks of things!

Thanks John.

Biltmore looks like a must visit next time in NC.

Cuuute snowman! Snow has not been my favorite season and everytime it does I always think of buying a home in a warm place. But looking at these photos make me wanna love snow! Beauuutiful!

Looks like the first scene of Kubric's version of the Shining.

Wow you gain followers from the last time I visited your channel.. I just got back from a couple of weeks no post and not online..
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year .. Very cold there now ..

It is cold in Florida today! We had snow flurries once in the 90s in Jacksonville and even in Miami in the 70s. I temember them letting us all out of school to see it lol It’s too cold for Florida! Blessings

I am a great fan of snow, but surely driving in the snow is a whole new experience for all good or bad drivers, and this should be taken seriously! Otherwise, the pictures are very good!

it was minus 40 here. Id take freezing

there is a distinct beauty in winter @markvance

Excellent photography. On one side of your side, on the other hand, the road on the other hand, especially the winter time photography all my favorite

Look at that cute snowman! :) it make me smile
Thank you for wonderful pictures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62875.13
ETH 3030.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67