Fairsing Vineyards, Oregon

in #travel6 years ago

On my trip to Portland, Oregon my daughter took me to her favorite vineyard.  She and her husband had found this place on a wine tour they did after staying at a bed and breakfast at the Black Walnut Inn.  It's about an hours drive from their home.  The drive there is very nice at the end going through foothills covered with trees and vineyards.  My daughter actually got a membership there and get notices of upcoming events and discounts on the wine.  Here is a picture of the wine tasting building. 

Here is a picture of the drive into the vineyards.  It became more hilly as we went along.

Here is the sign they had out front.   Here is a little bit about the vineyard.  Fairsing Vineyard was established in the summer of 2005, when the family purchased a quarter section of harvested forestland. By October 2006 eighteen acres were successfully planted and trellised with the assistance of Oregon’s collegial winegrower community. Vineyard development continued at roughly 5.5 acres per year, to reach the current 38 acres of Pinot noir and five acres of Chardonnay in production. 

The vines had been pruned back for the winter and will not start growing again till spring.

 

We parked the car and walked over to the wine tasting building.  It was a very nice modern building with great views of the valley below.  It was raining a little and very cold, at least for me. I forgot to get a picture of myself there at the vineyard.  I will  have to get one next time. 

We went inside and they had a nice area to take some wine. They are known for their Pinot Noir wines.  We also found out what Fairsing ment.   Fairsing means “bountiful” in ancient Gaelic, reflecting the plentiful resources of the large, diverse site of the vineyard. 

Here is the wine selection they had for us to taste.  I am no expert in wine, I just know what I like.  We started with the 2015 Chardonnay.  It was very good.  I did like it, but I prefer reds.  The next one the 2015 Pinot noir Sullivan, I thought was good, but not what I like. The third was the 2015 Pinot noir Dardis, and this was by far my favorite! The lady pouring the wine says that I like the bold red wines.  The last one was the 2015 Fairsing Vineyard Pinot noir.  I liked this one also, but I did like the Dardis better.

Here is my granddaughter wondering what all the fuss was about.  My grandson was at his pre-school for the day, so we didn't need to chase him around.

I went to look at the other room they have for tastings when they are busier in season.

You can see it's a nice intimate room with great views of the vineyard and valley below.

My granddaughter was happy and having a good time!

Here is a map they had on the wall of the wine growing region they were in.

 

I went outside to see the views.  They have a great area to have picnics on when the weather is better. 

They had a nice fountain near the seating are to add to the ambience. 

The views from the hill were fantatic.  I can only imagine how much better they are when it's not raining and the clouds are gone. 

 Here is what they say about there mission. Not my writing.

FAIRSING VINEYARD MISSION

Fairsing Vineyard is a sustainable grower of world class Pinot noir and Chardonnay for outstanding winemakers in the Northern Willamette Valley. A small quantity of Fairsing Vineyard Estate Wines are produced from our finest fruit.We are a family operation focused on quality and fun. Our stewardship will allow future generations to enjoy the earth, the vines and the wines of Fairsing Vineyard. 

Look at that view!

On one side of the vineyard they had this huge tree that I loved. 

Another view of the vineyard.

So, we finished up looking around and I bought my daughter a bottle of the Pinot noir Dardis that I liked.  We will have to drink that when we get back home. I would say, I had a great time at the Fairsing Vineyards and I will definitely go back next time I am in Oregon.  Here is a little about what the winery says about their sustainability.  

Fairsing Vineyard is a certified member of the Low Input Viticulture and Enology (LIVE) association, the Salmon Safe program and the American Tree Farm System. No pesticides or persistent herbicides are utilized on our 170 acre site.Our vineyard has a diverse ecosystem, including 80 acres dedicated to a Certified Family Forest. The site is a micro-watershed with numerous streams supplying the Chehalem Creek. Green reserves adjacent to vineyard blocks are maintained to enhance biodiversity. 

Oh, and I bought a hat!

Sort:  

Nice post!

Nice pictures beautifully done. thanks for sharing your trip with us

Wow....wonderful this nature....i like this travel. i wait your next post dear........

My hobbies are traveling, travel is my passion ...
I love traveling, I support the travel
thanks for post @markvance
!!!!!!resteemit done!!!!!!

Stunning views! I hope to travel to Oregon someday!!

Wonderful.hope people who are like travel to visit this.it is very help them.keep sharing.thank you

Travel & Discover !! Nice post @markvance , awesome photos!

Nice Photography

Wow ! ! Lucky that your daughter found that beautiful and very relaxing place. I wish I have it here. It can be more lively if there's a good music. ..I hope you enjoy with your family. Have a good time on your travel trip. . Looking forward to hear you soon.

Yes, thanks I had a great time!

Great country

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64149.44
ETH 3145.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53