Day 2: Great Stirrup Cay, Bahamas

in #travel7 years ago

The 2nd day of our Caribbean cruise, my wife @texasbodi and I visited Norwegian Cruise Lines private island, Great Stirrup Cay. It is located in the southern Bahamas. The water was pretty shallow out for about a quarter mile, which allowed for us to tender from the main ship to the island by small boats. Weather was beautiful, 80 degrees and breezy. All the food and drink on the island was complimentary, which made for a great day for the beach and cocktails.

stirrup boat.jpg

Norwegian Epic anchored off the island.

stirrup beach2.jpg

Beautiful day to walk the beach, sand was so soft, pristine water, many shades of turquoise.

stirrup bar.jpg

Complimentary cocktails all day

stirrup love.jpg

I didn't build a sand castle, but I did leave a message for my wife @texasbodi

stirrup tree.jpg

Twisted tree pic . Overall it was a great day. Got to spend an afternoon of quality time with my wife and unwind with a few cocktails. Hope you enjoy this post.

Sort:  

The water does look inviting. We've never been there. Did going to that island cost you anything or was it part of the cruise line package?

No charge, part of cruise package, Thank you

The water is so clear in the Bahamas! When I went there, I swam in water that came to my chest and I could still look down and see my feet. I am sure you are having a blast. Did you notice any signs of the disaster from the hurricanes this past hurricane season? I wonder how recovery is going for the islands. It was terrible how the tropical islands were slammed with hurricanes this past year.

Looks like you enjoyed. thanks for coming to the Bahamas. Come back soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77